23 Aug 2014
62° Mostly Cloudy

Mayor Swap on Santa Clara Valley Water Board

With Don Gage once again the mayor of Gilroy, former Morgan Hill Mayor Dennis Kennedy is taking his spot on the water board.

Mayor Swap on Santa Clara Valley Water Board

Contributed by the Santa Clara Valley Water District:

Today, the Santa Clara Valley Water District Board of Directors unanimously appointed Morgan Hill resident and former mayor, Dennis Kennedy, to fill the District 1 seat vacated in December by Don Gage.

Kennedy served as mayor of Morgan Hill from 1991 to 1992, and from 1996 to 2006. He led the city’s efforts to advance the Upper Llagas Creek Flood Protection Project. He serves on five non-profit boards and is currently a member of the water district board’s Environmental Advisory Committee and served on the Santa Clara Valley Habitat Conservation Plan planning committee.

He was the past chair of the South County Regional Wastewater Authority. A graduate of Santa Clara University, Kennedy is a registered professional mechanical engineer.

Kennedy’s term ends Dec. 5, 2014. During his interview with the board of directors, Mr. Kennedy indicated he would not seek election after this term ends.

District 1 includes the cities of Morgan Hill and Gilroy, the town of San Martin, the Evergreen and Silver Creek neighborhoods of San Jose, parts of south San Jose; and hills east of San Jose and Milpitas.

Share This Article