14 Sep 2014
87° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by longunderwearman
Patch Instagram photo by quadrofoglio
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by healthandbeautynz
Patch Instagram photo by andreagazeapt
Patch Instagram photo by reh_22
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by pespatchpsp

Newcomers Dominate Local City Council Races

Laurie Davies is one of three new council members for Laguna Niguel. In Dana Point, newcomer Carlos Olvera joins incumbent Scott Schoeffel in the winner's circle.

Newcomers Dominate Local City Council Races Newcomers Dominate Local City Council Races

The makeup of both the Laguna Niguel and Dana Point city councils changed dramatically Tuesday with the election of four new council members and one incumbent.

In Laguna Niguel, council newcomers Laurie Davies, Jerry Slusiewicz and Jerry McCloskey won the three open seats. In Dana Point, Councilman J. Scott Schoeffel won re-election, and challenger Carlos N. Olvera won the second open seat.

Laguna Niguel’s three winners thanked the voters Tuesday night.

"I want to thank all my supporters and I am excited to serve the city of Laguna Niguel," Davies said Tuesday evening. "I am grateful and overwhelmed by all the support given to me."

"I am grateful for all the support given to me and there is a lot of quality people in Laguna Niguel, and I appreciate all the efforts to help me win. I know we all wanted to win, and I am humbled and look forward to serving Laguna Niguel," said Slusiewicz.

"I am humbled and gratified by my election to the Laguna Niguel City Council. I truly feel that I have been called by the Lord to serve our City and its residents,” said Jerry McCloskey. “I will do my best to bring wisdom and discernment to the Council.  It has been a long, but interesting, race.  I wish to thank all of my fellow candidates for their courtesy and fairness during the campaign. My special thanks to those who supported and helped me win my seat on the Council.”

The Results

Laguna Niguel (three-seats,):

Laurie Davies: 13,702 votes or 28.7 percent of the vote

Jerry McCloskey: 11,093 votes or 23.3 percent

Jerry Slusiewicz: 11,471 votes or 24.1 percent

Brad Barber: 6,043 votes or 12. 7 percent

Tony English: 5,358 or 11.2 percent

Dana Point (two-seats):

J. Scott Schoeffel: 5,568 or 29.7 percent

Carlos N. Olvera: 5,083, or 27.1 percent

Norm Denton: 4,722 or 25.2 percent

Ed Stevenson: 3,352 or 17.9 percent

In Laguna Niguel, there were five candidates vying for the three seats because those seats belonging to Councilman Gary Capata and Mayor Paul Glaab termed out and cannot run again until 2014.

Share This Article