20 Aug 2014
62° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch

Martinez Election Races Taking Shape

So far, eight people have pulled papers to run for two open council seats.

Martinez Election Races Taking Shape

Eight Martinez residents have taken out candidate nomination papers for two City Council seats, reflecting the fact that one incumbent, Janet Kennedy, has announced her retirement from the body.

That leaves Mark Ross as the lone incumbent running with two seats up for election.  With one incumbent not running, filing of nomination papers is extended in that race until next Wednesday. Filing in races where there are no incumbent vacancies closes Friday at 5 p.m. 

Ross has taken out papers to seek re-election. The best known among the other candidates are Dylan Radke, chair of the City Parks, Recreation, Marina and Cultural Commission, and Kathi McLaughlin, a member of the Martinez Unified School District Board. McLaughlin has also taken out papers for re-election to the school board, but can only file in one of them. If she does not file for the school board by Friday, she can only file for City Council, during the extension period. 

Others taking out nomination papers for the council include Michael Alford, Arsenio Escudero, Anamarie Avila Farias, Will Frisbie and Coday Skinner. None of the council candidates had filed final papers to become candidates as of the close of business Wednesday.

City Treasurer Carolyn Robinson and City Clerk Richard (Gary) Hernandez may each have competition for re-election to new four-year terms. Charles Martin has taken out papers to run against Robinson, while Evelyn Centeno has indicated she will run against Hernandez.

There may be competition in five other races for seats on boards of local districts that include Martinez. In districts where there is no competition, the boards can elect not to have an election on the ballot. 

It appears that at least one incumbent may not file in four of the five local districts, meaning filing will close  at 5 p.m. Wednesday in those districts.  Any citizen 18 or over on Ellection Day Nov. 6 who is a resident of the district involved can take out papers for election to the governing board through Wednesday, but they must be completed and returned by 5 p.m. that day.

Local districts having elections include the following. 

Martinez Unified School District (three seats) 
Incumbents John Fuller and McLaughlin have taken out papers but not yet filed them, while Denise Elsken has filed. Also taking out papers are Ronald Skrehot and Dena Betti. 

Mt. Diablo Unified School District (two seats)

Incumbent Gary Eberhart has indicated he will not seek re-eleciton. Incumbent Sherry Whitmarsh of Concord has taken out papers, as have Brian Lawrence of Walnut Creek, Ernesto de Trinidad of Clayton and Barbara Oaks of Pleasant  Hill. Debra Mason and Attila Gabor, both of Bay Point, have both filed final papers. No one from Martinez has taken out papers. The district includes the southeastern portion of the city. 

Mt. Diablo Health Care District (3 full-term seats, 1 short-term seat)
In a district which is slated for dissolution after years of controversy, incumbent Grace Ellis is the only one to take out papers. She has been joined by Roy Kinion and Kevin Coughlin, both of Concord. 

Central Sanitary District (3 seats)

Incumbents Barbara Hockett, Danville,  and James Nejedly, Walnut Creek, have taken out papers, with both completing the filing. Anticipating the retirement of longtime board member Mario Menesini, papers have been filed by Tadeusz Pilecki of Martinez, Paul Causey of Walnut Creek and Deborah Hinkson of Alamo. Richard Clark and Frederick Smith, both of Danville, have taken out papers. Pilecki would be the first Martinez resident on the board, if elected. 

Mt. View Sanitary District (3 seats) 
Incumbents Randall Williams, David Maggi and Elmer Schaal have all filed, as has challenger Beverli Marshall in the small district serving mostly unincorporated areas of Greater Martinez. 

Share This Article