20 Aug 2014
66° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch
Patch Instagram photo by laurabarreto87
Patch Instagram photo by lghtwght

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists Named

Eighteen students—including one who is home-schooled—feeding into four local high schools are recognized.

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists Named

Two hundred Orange County students have been selected National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists, according to an announcement Wednesday.

Among those, 17 are from schools that are fed by Rancho Santa Margarita area students, and another student is home-schooled.

There are about 16,000 semifinalists nationally in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

  • Sign up to receive the daily Patch newsletter, or follow RSM Patch on Facebook and Twitter.
  • If you're a business owner or manager, claim the free listing for your business here.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation was established in 1955 to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The scholarships honor the nation’s scholastic champions.

The students will compete for about 8,300 scholarships worth more than a total $32 million. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to make it to the finals and just more than half of the finalists will win a scholarship.

The students were judged by their scores on standardized test scores, their grades, an essay and extracurricular activities.

The local semifinalists from the Rancho Santa Margarita area are:

  • Neil Argade, Joshua M. Don, Ryan A. Hall, Tae-Min Kim and Kevin C.
    Yang of Mission Viejo High School.
  • Yash Attal, Urmila Janardan, Angela Ni and Janet J. Son of Trabuco
    Hills High School.
  • Hannah E. Huynh, a homeschooled student from Rancho Santa Margarita.
  • Jordan Francis, Chris T. Kateyiannis, Nicole A. Minkina and Alexander G. Mott of Santa Margarita Catholic High School.
  • Jon C. Coleman, Alexandra Ivanov, Bryan A. Le, and Ryan H. Yoo of
    Tesoro High School.

—City News Service

Share This Article