23 Aug 2014
60° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by lupiii723

County Dems Opposing Measures H, I and J

County Dems Opposing Measures H, I and J

The Santa Cruz County Democratic Party endorsed a no vote on Watsonville measures H, I and J at their general meeting held on May 28.

A vote on the three measures was taken following a discussion that started in April and concluded with presentations from Assemblymember Luis Alejo and Watsonville City Council Member Lowell Hurst. 

“The membership voted overwhelmingly to oppose Measures H, I and J and hope Watsonville voters will reject them,” said Michael Breeden, chairperson of the Santa Cruz County Democratic Central Committee.

The three measures on the ballot in the June 3 election aim to change the way the Watsonville City Council chooses the mayor, fills vacancies and names public places. 

[Related:  Citizen Says 'VOTE YES' on Measures I, H and J.]

They have been backed and financed largely by unnamed sources and have also been opposed by the Pajaro Valley César Chavez Democratic Club. 

Spokesperson for the PVCCDC, Maria Orozco, said: “Watsonville voters have a long tradition of safeguarding our voting rights and we should not be tricked by these outside groups. The majority of the signatures were gathered by paid signature gatherers who didn’t live in Watsonville and stood in front of local stores. We deserve the best for our city, and our residents should be the only ones at the forefront of what measures get introduced and passed in our city—not an outside organization. I encourage our Watsonville residents to vote NO on H-I-J.”

Santa Cruz County Dems previously endorsed Watsonville Measure G, a half cent sales tax to help fund police and fire departments. They also endorsed Measure F to fund county parks andScotts Valley Measure A —a bond issue to build a new middle school.

Candidates endorsed by the Santa Cruz County Democratic Party include:

·      Jim Hart for sheriff

·      Ryan Coonerty for 3rd district supervisor

·      Amanda Jackson Miller for Soquel School Board

The primary election is this Tuesday, June 3 and the Santa Cruz County Democratic Party and the Pajaro Valley Cesar Chavez Democratic Club encourage voters to vote early at the Watsonville City Administrative Offices on 275 Main Street (4th Floor) on Saturday, May 31 and Sunday, June 1 (9am-5pm), Monday, June 2 (8am-5pm) and Election Day, June 3 (7am-8pm).

For more information on the Watsonville GOTV voting schedule, visit the Watsonville City Clerk's page at:


Early voting is also underway at the County Elections Office, 701 Ocean St. Room 210, Santa Cruz, including 9am-5pm on Saturday and Sunday.

Info supplied from SC Democratic Party.

Share This Article