23 Aug 2014
71° Mostly Cloudy

June is Dog License Month

June is Dog License Month

All dogs, large and small, must be must be licensed in the month of June. This is a Connecticut State Law. All dogs in the State of Connecticut (six) months old or older must be licensed each year in the town where they reside in the month of June.  Current rabies certificate is required for all dogs; and a neutered/spayed certificate is required for dogs that will be licensed for the first time or if recently neutered or spayed. It is very important that you bring in the required certificates since this office will not call the veterinarian.

To license your dog stop by Bethel's Town Clerk's Office at Town Hall, Municipal Center, 1 School Street, Bethel. Office hours are Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 4:00 pm.  

To obtain a dog license, dog owners must present: 

  • Current rabies certificate 
  • Proof of spaying or neutering
  • Provide pet information: name, address, phone, owner's name, type of dog
Dogs do not need to be licensed until they are 6 months of age. They do not license cats.

  • Males and Females: $19
  • Spayed and Neutered: $8

After June, add $1 for each month late.

Contact the Animal Control Officer at 203-778-7424 or the Bethel Police Department routine calls at 203-743-5500 with further questions.

Share This Article