Jul 30, 2014
Mostly Cloudy

PHOTOS: Naugatuck Honors its Firefighters

The borough recognized all of its firefighters for their years of service and heroic acts.

The borough Fire Commission recognized all the members of the Naugatuck Fire Department for the times they excelled while on the job.

The top award went out to firefighter Jason Alford, who was recognized for pulling Nancy San Angelo out of her burning apartment during a fire in an Anderson Street building last year.

Wayne Malicki, the chairman of the Fire Commission, gave Alford the "medal of merit." Fire Chief Kenneth Hanks, along with Deputy Fire Chief Ellen Murray, passed out the awards.

Mayor Robert Mezzo gave opening remarks and dozens from the public were in attendance, including family and friends.

Medal of Merit

Jason Alford   Anderson Street Fire Rescue

Unit Citations

Anderson St Fire

C-3  2nd Assistant Chief Paul Russell

Engine 4                                    Engine 3                                    Truck 1

Captain Richard Alfes            Lt. Stephen Flaherty            FF Thomas Kaminski

FF Thomas Foley                        FF Franklin Andrew         FF Gregg Mckirryher

FF Jason Alford                        FF Stephen Sousa            

Field Street Extrication 

Engine 3                             Engine 4                                         Rescue 1

LT Glen Knoll               Captain Richard Alfes        FF/Mechanic Anthony Salcito

FF Kevin Grotke                 FF Jason Alford                       FF Richard Tavares

FF Sean Reilly                 FF Thomas Foley           

Tropical Storm Irene/Storm Alfred

Dispatcher Dave Porto

Dispatcher Fran Dambowsky

Dispatcher Judith Silkowsky

Dispatcher Vidas Melninkaitis

Community Service Award

FF/Assistant Mechanic John DeBisschop

FF Todd Gallino

Acting Deputy Fire Marshal William Scanlon

Capt. Dave Seeger 

Military Service Award

Dispatcher Fran Dambowsky

FF/Mechanic John Debisschop

Dispatcher Vidas Melninkaitis

FF Stephen Sousa 

NFD Special Award 

Brian Moruska

Sibbys Automotive

Paramedic Thomas Higgins 

Commissioners Award

I don’t have the list here (I’m home) but Firefighters were given recognition for Tropical Storm Irene and Storm Alfred. 

Service Award

Firefighters were recognized for years of service starting at 5 years and every 5 years after.

Photo Gallery

Don’t miss updates from Patch!