Jul 26, 2014

North Branford Indoor Track Celebrates Stellar Season

The T-Birds had a host of highlights for the 2011-12 indoor track season.

North Branford Indoor Track Celebrates Stellar Season North Branford Indoor Track Celebrates Stellar Season North Branford Indoor Track Celebrates Stellar Season

The had the season-ending banquet on March 2. Rob Martino, Sarah McDonald, Kevin Walker and Jessica Wharton captained the 2011-12 squad, which highlighted the season with broken school records and Shoreline champions. 

Five records were broken on the boys’ side with Matt Edwards setting a new record in the 600. Four relay teams also broke records including the 4x200 team of Bobby Miller, Cory Onofrio, Gary Falanga and Robert Martino; the 4x400 team Bernie Cermola, Edwards, Falanga and Ryan Proto; the 4x800 team of Cermola, Walker, Jason Conforte and Proto; and the SMR team of Cermola, Edwards, Falanga and Miller.

On the girls’ side, Miranda Jassil set a new school record in the 300. She was also a part of the record-breaking 4x200 team along with Katelyn Pantera, Natalie Baughan and Jordan Miket.

The T-Birds found success in the postseason with many athletes qualifying for both the and . In the Shoreline Conference Championships, the boys’ team took third and the girls placed seventh.

Martino and Rocco Morgan earned First Team All-Shoreline honors as Martino placed first in the 55 in 6.7 seconds, while Morgan’s throw of 42-5 earned him the title in the shot put.

Two individuals and two relay teams were named Second Team All-Shoreline by taking second in their respective events including Edwards in the 600 (1:26.89), Jordan Rippe in the shot put (41-4 ½), the girls’ 4x200 team of Miket, Baughan, Jassil and Pantera (1:55.36) and the boys’ 4x400 team of Proto, Falanga, Edwards and Cermola (3:39.24).

In the Class S State Championship, both teams officially scored in two events each. Martino came in fifth in the 55 (6.69) and Rachel Boyers was fourth in the 55 hurdles (9.44). 

The T-Birds’ relays continued to shine as the girls’ 4x200 team of Baughan, Jassil, Miket and Pantera finished fourth (1:55.24) and the boys’ 4x800 team of Cermola, Conforte, Proto and Walker came in fifth place (8:44.93). 

Martino’s efforts earned him a place in the State Opens where he claimed eighth place in the 55. His efforts also earned him MVP honors alongside Boyers.

Other awards presented at the banquet included Desire and Dedication, which went to Walker and McDonald; the Coaches’ Award, which was presented to Morgan and Wharton; and Rookie of the Year, which went to Rachel Sokoloff and Andrew Sarmento.

McDonald, Martino and Jassil were all four-year members of the team to earn the Four-Year Chris Award. Other seniors graduating from the squad include Cermola, Joe Griskauska, Connor Healy, Onofrio, Christian Perrotti, Jordan Rippe, Walker, Jassil, Alexis Johnson, Stephani Sileo and Wharton.

Elected captains for next year are Boyers, Edwards, Miket, Miller, Morgan and Proto.

Don’t miss updates from Patch!