20 Aug 2014
64° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by annmaries_hair_on_madison
Patch Instagram photo by annmaries_hair_on_madison



GLASTONBURY, CONN. (June 2014) - High school seniors from Bethel, Bridgeport, Brookfield, Danbury, Darien, Fairfield, Greenwich, Monroe, New Canaan, New Fairfield, New Town, Norwalk, Redding, Ridgefield,  Shelton, Stamford, Stratford, Trumbull, Weston, Westport, and Wilton were recognized as the state’s top scholar-athletes at the 2014 Connecticut Association of Schools (CAS) Scholar-Athlete Banquet sponsored by McDonald’s.  A 31-year sponsor of the program with a longstanding commitment to educational programs in Connecticut, McDonald’s joined CAS to honor the following local students as the best of the best in the state:


- Danielle Spinella and Matthew Liquori, Bethel High School, Bethel

- Sadazjah Miles and Zavon Billups, Bullard Havens Technical High School, Bridgeport

- Aliyah Phipps and Hector Reyes, Warren Harding High School, Bridgeport

- Diamond Allen and Dany Gomes, Bridgeport Central High School, Bridgeport

- Stephanie Ferrarie and Kyle Drake, Brookfield High School, Brookfield

- Jaclyn Daily and Michael Fredette, Immaculate High School, Danbury

- Gabriella Cecere and Zachary Ventrella, Henry Abbott Technical High School, Danbury

- Faith Mancuso and Rares Barbu, Danbury High School, Danbury

- Catherine Lacy and Cameron Van de Graaf, Darien High School, Darien

- Nicholas Crowle, Fairfield College Preparatory, Fairfield

- Pauline Blatt and Kevin Warten, Fairfield Ludlowe High School, Fairfield

- Jasmine Fuller and Matthew Lasky, Notre Dame Catholic High School, Fairfield

- Nicole Levine and Kyle Scheetz, Fairfield Warde High School, Fairfield

- Hollis Jomo and Alexander Lewis, Greenwich High School, Greenwich

- Olivia Fox and Jeffrey Sadownick, Masuk High School, Monroe

- Nathalie DeNey and Jack O'Rourke, New Canaan High School, New Canaan

- Katherine Broderick and Eric Burfeind, New Fairfield High School, New Fairfield

- Anna Northrop and Matthew Mossbarger, Newtown High School, Newtown

- Skylar Buswell and Brody O'Brien, Norwalk High School, Norwalk

- Nicole Lue and Matthew Downey, Brien Mcmahon High School, Norwalk

- Alyssa Lyon and Joseph Murphy, Joel Barlow High School, Redding

- Sandra Carpenter and Trevor Hopper, Ridgefield High School, Ridgefield

- Jessica Wilm and Henry Feroce, Shelton High School, Shelton

- Jasmine Li and Drevaun Bailey, Stamford High School, Stamford

- Claire Howlett and Martin Chobanyan, Westhill High School, Stamford

- Megan Bates and Sean Epp, Trinity Catholic High School, Stamford

- Haley Mitchell-Adams and Daniel Ghajar, Bunnell High School, Stratford

- Rachel Santo and Timothy Paproski, Stratford High School, Stratford

- Sabrina Toole and Nicholas Williams, St. Joseph High School, Trumball

- Katherine Foley and Peter Veikos, Trumbull High School, Trumball

- Jane Wall and Asher Lee-Tyson, Weston High School, Weston

- Verity Abel and Jack Scott, Staples High School, Westport

- Sarah Healy and Brett Phillips, Wilton High School, Wilton


“McDonald’s is proud to partner with CAS to honor this year’s high school scholar-athletes from all across Connecticut.  We congratulate the state’s top students who are prominent in their academic and athletic achievement,” says Rachel Deane, McDonald's owner/operator and president of the Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald's Owner/Operator Association. 


The Connecticut High School Scholar-Athlete 2014 Awards Banquet is the largest program of its type in the state. Only one male and one female student are eligible for the award through a nomination from their principal for: demonstrating exemplary academic and athletic careers including participating in an interscholastic athletics; possessing personal standards and achievements that are a model to others; exhibiting outstanding school; and community service and carrying themselves with high levels of integrity, self-discipline and courage. 


About McDonald's

The Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald’s Owner/Operator Association is comprised of local McDonald’s restaurant owners who are community and industry leaders. They have a long-standing commitment to supporting educational initiatives and organizations in the communities they serve, including providing resources to promote balanced, active lifestyles to kids and nutritional information for families. For more information, follow us on Facebook or Twitter @McD_CTWMA.


McDonald's USA, LLC, serves a variety of menu options made with quality ingredients to more than 27 million customers every day. Nearly 90 percent of McDonald's 14,000 U.S. restaurants are independently owned and operated by businessmen and women. Customers can now log online for free at approximately 11,500 participating Wi-Fi enabled McDonald's U.S. restaurants. For more information, visit www.mcdonalds.com, or follow us on Twitter @McDonalds and Facebook www.facebook.com/mcdonalds.

Share This Article