Jul 29, 2014
75°
Partly Cloudy

Now Hiring: Sandy Recovery Jobs Available

Federal money is helping pay for 120 temporary jobs in Connecticut, according to this press release.

Now Hiring: Sandy Recovery Jobs Available

 

Connecticut residents can contact the Connecticut Department of Labor for information on potential temporary employment opportunities related to Tropical Storm Sandy recovery. The jobs were created using a  $1.8 million federal grant the state received in the aftermath of the storm.

“In addition to temporarily hiring those who have been dislocated or are unemployed, this federal grant will assist the state and our cities and towns in rebuilding in the wake of this devastating storm,” Gov. Dannel P. Malloy said in a written statement.

Under the terms of the federal grant, applicants must be unemployed as a result of Storm Sandy, or they must have been unemployed prior to the storm and no longer receiving unemployment benefits or other income supports.

The grant funds approximately 120 positions for up to 20 weeks for clean-up, demolition, repair, renovation, and reconstruction of destroyed public structures, facilities, and lands within affected communities.  Temporary jobs may also include working on projects that provide food, clothing, shelter and other humanitarian assistance for disaster victims.

Residents interested in a temporary position should email their closest CTWorks Career Center and provide their name, address, phone number, email address and current employment status.  CTWorks Career Center contact information can be downloaded on CTDOL’s website at  www.ct.gov/dol by clicking on the “Storm Sandy temporary employment opportunities” link, and is also available here:

 

CT Contacts for Storm Sandy Temporary Employment Opportunities

CTWorks Office

Contact

Email Address

Bridgeport

Stephanie James

stephanie.james@ct.gov

 

Mary Malenda

mary.malenda@ct.gov

Danielson

Mark Fillmore

mark.fillmore@ct.gov

Enfield

Karen Quesnel

karen.quesnel@ct.gov

Hamden

Tony Harris

anthony.harris@ct.gov

Hartford

Donna Smith

donna.smith@ct.gov

Meriden

Karl Eckert

karl.eckert@ct.gov

New Britain

Carl Walczewski

carl.walczewski@ct.gov

New London

Garth Swaby

garth.swaby@ct.gov

Norwich

Garth Swaby

garth.swaby@ct.gov

Waterbury

Steve Romano

stephen.romano@ct.gov

Willimantic

Mark Fillmore

mark.fillmore@ct.gov

Don’t miss updates from Patch!