21 Aug 2014
67° Overcast
Patch Instagram photo by bbbbar

Windsor Incumbents Hold Ground on Election Tuesday

With the exception of the redrawn fifth assembly district, Windsor's political landscape went unchanged after Tuesday's vote

Windsor Incumbents Hold Ground on Election Tuesday

Tuesday's general election proved fruitful for local incumbents, as Windsor voters chose to keep their elected offials in office.

State Representatives David Baram (D-15), Peggy Sayers (D-60), Elaine O'Brien (D-61), and State Senators Eric Colmeman (D-2) and John Kissel (R-7) were all re-elected.

Windsor voters did not actually vote to re-elect Kissel, as Kissel's challenger, Karen Jarmoc, actually received more votes in town, but Windsor's minority in the voting district failed to produce a leadership change in the district.

Kissel remains the only Republican representative of Windsor residents.

Voters in the first, second and third voting districts also voted to elect Brandon McGee assume the re-drawn fifth assembly district seat.

The seat will be vacated at the start of 2012 when incumbent Marie Kirkley-Bey retires.

The 28-year-old McGee posted a statement on his Facebook page following his victory, saying, "I am humbled to have been elected to the House in the same election that re-elected our President!!! The work is not over. The work to improve our community begins with the end of this election."

McGee defeated Windsor's Paul Panos (R) in the fifth district race.

Panos was one of two Windsor residents on the ballot, the other being Malvi Lennon, who was defeated by long-time incumbent Coleman in the 2nd senatorial district.

Voter turnout in town was down from the 2008 general election, which was just over 80 percent.

72 percent of Windsor voters turned out to polls Tuesday.

Share This Article