22 Aug 2014
81° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch

2013 Riverview Idol: Top 10 Contestants Advance

The Riverview Idol contest at Riverview High School returns for a second round Tuesday, March 5. See who advanced to the Top 10 round of competition.

2013 Riverview Idol: Top 10 Contestants Advance


Ten singers have advanced to the second round of 2013 Riverview Idol competition after performing with 15 of their peers at Riverview High School on Tuesday, Feb. 26. In all, about 45 students had auditioned to compete for a Top 25 spot.

  • See 2013 Riverview Idol Kicks Off Tonight (Feb. 26) for a 7th Year

Jeremy Rosado of Valrico, cheered on by the Greater Brandon community in his 2012 run for the American Idol crown, is set to judge the final round of the Riverview Idol contest, March 19.

But first, the second round of competition kicks off 7 p.m. March 5, also at the high school. Advancing, and vying for the competition's seventh-year crown, are:

  • Ylianna Nieves and Jessie Robinson
  • Clayton Taylor and Christie Setteducate
  • Seth Vance and Halie Huddleston
  • Monica Krajewski and Isabel Sabina
  • Correy Farrell and Madison Kinney

For the second round of competition, the Top 10 finishers have been "paired into duets randomly, which means a country girl could end up with a rhythm-and-blues guy," according to choral teacher and Riverview Idol founder and director Liz Stewart . "They'll have to make it work."

The duets will be sung, as well as a solo song of choice, before the panel of judges. Audience members again will be given ballots to cast their selections — this time, for the Top 5 finalists — and each judge, too, will receive a ballot for voting.

Show time each round is 7 p.m., with the doors opening at 6:30 p.m. Tickets each night cost $5.

Rosado of Valrico, a Top 13 finisher in the 2012 American Idol contest, is set to perform and judge at the final round of Riverview Idol competition. Rosado will replace Kevin Joyner, a judge for the prior two nights of competition, along with Heather Kreuger, who works at the Straz Center and with Busch Gardens entertainment; and Samantha Leigh, named FOX's Tampa Bay Idol in 2009.

"I like his commitment to the text of what he sings," Stewart said, about Rosado's voice and performances. "He sings completely from his heart and he has a very soulful voice."

At round three, the Top 5 contestants will take to the stage for the first half of the night's entertainment, March 19. They will sing two songs each, this time accompanying themselves any way they want. "They can play the piano, play the guitar or sing in front of a gospel gospel band," Stewart said.

During the second half of the night's show, while they votes are being tabluated, Rosado will take to the stage himself.

Proceeds benefit the Riverview High School chorus. A portion will benefit as well the school's television production group, which will film footage of the event to be displayed as well at the final round of competition.

The chorus will used the money to help pay the way to state competition. Ten classical soloists, five student conductors and the schools' Vision show choir qualified at district competition earlier this month at Steinbrenner High School to advance to state competition at Seminole State College in Sanford, Stewart said.

As for the Riverview Idol talent on display, Stewart said members of the Greater Brandon and Riverview communities "are going to be exposed to some remarkable talent in our local high schools that they wouldn't even know existed there."


2013 Riverview Idol Top 10 Finishers

Correy Farrell Halie Huddleston Madison Kinney Monica Krajewski Ylianna Nieves Jessie  Robinson Isabel Sabina Christie Setteducate Clayton Taylor Seth  Vance



Past Riverview Idol Winners


   Amy Bueno 2008    Joshua Moody 2009    Jessenia Figueroa 2010    Jesse Byers 2011    McCauley Harnish 2012    KJai Betts



Share This Article