Jul 28, 2014

Local School Volunteers Honored by Pinellas County

The school district's Outstanding Volunteers of the Year include volunteers from Dunedin Elementary, Dunedin Highland Middle and San Jose Elementary.

Local School Volunteers Honored by Pinellas County

Three Dunedin school volunteers have been selected as Outstanding Volunteers of the Year by Pinellas County Schools.

Erin Hensel of , Andrew Wiener of , and Paul Hurtubise of will be honored during a school board meeting Feb. 21, and they will also be recognized at a breakfast in their honor April 26, according to an email from local school officials. 

Here is the complete list of the district's Outstanding Volunteers of the Year:

  • Erin Hensel, Dunedin Highland Middle School
  • Andrew Wiener, Dunedin Elementary School
  • Paul Hurtubise, San Jose Elementary School
  • Laurel Jaeger, Clearwater Fundamental School
  • Sgt. Marlin Heyward, Boca Ciega High School
  • Patricia Marder, Eisenhower Elementary School
  • Lauren Adams, Bauder Elementary School
  • David Harper, Dixie Hollins Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Fultz, Pinellas Park Elementary
  • Michael Peabody, Gibbs High School
  • Carine Yacoub, Mildred Helms Elementary School
  • Eula Thomas, Campbell Park Elementary School
  • Kaitlin Dorsey, Cross Bayou Elementary School
  • Pamela Iusi, Clearwater High School
  • Francine Brickman, Frontier Elementary School
  • Ray Edward Miller, Palm Harbor University High School

The Feb. 21 school board meeting will be at 5:30 p.m. at the in Largo. The April 26 recognition breakfast will be at 8:30 a.m. at in Clearwater, with a ceremony to follow at 9:30.

Pinellas County Schools has more than 25,000 volunteers who donate more than 1 million hours of service annually to benefit students, according to the district website. Here's how to become a school volunteer.

[Updated 05:35 p.m., Friday, Feb. 24, 2012]

Don’t miss updates from Patch!