20 Aug 2014
69° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by patch

Six Students Win Aramark Education Scholarship

Six gradating seniors in the Cherokee County School District each won a $500 scholarship from Aramark Education.

Six Students Win Aramark Education Scholarship

Six graduating seniors were recognized last week by the Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent Dr. Frank Petruzielo as the 2014 Aramark Education Scholarship winners. 

The students were recognized during the board's May 15 meeting. 

One of the board's major system priorities includes increasing "parental and community involvement through public engagement policies and practices that treat parents, businesses, community-based organizations and agencies, local institutions of higher learning and other public entities as true partners in the educational process," the Cherokee County School District said in a news release.

Accordingly, the partnership agreement with Aramark Education requires one $500 scholarship each school year be awarded to a graduating senior from each of the district's traditional high schools. 

As such, applications were solicited via the high schools’ counseling staff, the district's website and through local media, and were forwarded to the Aramark Education Scholarship Committee for consideration.  

This committee, consisting of Aramark Education and community representatives with a district representative as a facilitator, reviewed and scored the applications. 

The winners are: Jessica Lucas of Cherokee High School; Megan Chadwick of Creekview High School; David Morrison of Etowah High School; Maggie O'Bryant of River Ridge High School; Emma Marie Williams of Sequoyah High School; and Matthew “Zeke” Altman of Woodstock High School. 

Regional and national executives from Aramark Education attended the meeting to congratulate the winners.  The company next school year will award $500 scholarships to two graduating seniors from each of CCSD’s traditional high schools. 

Share This Article