Jul 27, 2014

Election Day 2012: What You Need to Know

If you haven't already voted, here is important information for today's election.

Election Day 2012: What You Need to Know

Election Day is finally here.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. To find your polling place and view a sample ballot, visit the  Georgia Secretary of State "My Voter Page." Each voter is assigned a specific polling place. You must go to your assigned polling location in order to cast a ballot.

Heading to the polls today? Let us know what turnout is like at your polling location by snapping a picture with your camera or cell phone and sharing it by clicking the "Upload photos and videos" button above.

To vote, you will need to present proper identification such as a Georgia driver's license or Georgia voting card. For a list of acceptable identification, click here.

In addition to the presidential election, ballots for Dacula area voters will include congressional, state house, state senate, school board, public service commissioner and other races (see below).

City of Dacula residents can also take part in a special election to decide whether or not to allow package stores to open in the city.

The  special election ballot will contain the following question: “Shall the issuance of licenses for the package sale of distilled spirits be approved?” 

Results of the package store referendum will be posted on the City of Dacula website after the votes have been tabulated. Local and state election results will be posted on the Georgia Secretary of State website. Visit the elections results page for a video tutorial demonstrating how results will be reported.

Countywide, voters will cast ballots in the following contested races (races with candidates running unopposed are not included):

President of the United States

  • Barack Obama (Joe Biden, Vice President), Democrat (Incumbent)
  • Mitt Romney (Paul Ryan, Vice President), Republican
  • Gary Johnson (James P. Gray, Vice President), Libertarian

Public Service Commissioner

  • Chuck Eaton, Republican (Incumbent)
  • Stephen Oppenheimer, Democrat
  • Brad Ploeger, Libertarian

Public Service Commissioner

  • Stan Wise, Republican (Incumbent)
  • David Staples, Libertarian

U.S. House, 4th District

  • Hank Johnson, Democrat (Incumbent)
  • J. Chris Vaughn, Republican 

U.S. House, 7th District

  • Rob Woodall, Republican (Incumbent)
  • Steve Reilly, Democrat

State Senate, 9th District

  • Don Balfour, Republican (Incumbent)
  • Scott Drake, Democrat

State House, 81st District

  • Scott Holcomb, Democrat (Incumbent)
  • Chris Boedeker, Republican

State House, 93rd District

  • Dar’Shun Kendrick, Democrat (Incumbent)
  • Cristine Hoffer, Republican

State House,  95th District

  • Tom Rice, Republican (Incumbent)
  • Brooke Siskin, Democrat

State House, 96th District

  • Pete Marin, Democrat (Incumbent)
  • Mark Williams, Republican

State House, 101st District

  • Valerie Clark, Republican (Incumbent)
  • Timothy Swiney, Democrat

State House, 105th District

(no incumbent)

  • Joyce Chandler, Republican
  • Renita Hamilton, Democrat

Gwinnett County

Board of Education, District 1

  • Carole Boyce, Republican (Incumbent)
  • Jennah Es-Sudan, Democrat

Board of Education, District 3

  • Mary Kay Murphy, Republican (Incumbent)
  • Jen Falk, Democrat

Board of Education, District 5

  • Louise Radloff, Democrat (Incumbent)
  • H.K. Dido, Republican

Consitutional Amendments

  1. “Shall the Constitution of Georgia be amended to allow state or local approval of public charter schools upon request of local communities?”
  2. “Shall the Constitution of Georgia be amended so as to provide for a reduction in the state’s operating costs by allowing the General Assembly to authorize certain state agencies to enter into multiyear rental agreements?”

For a consolidated sample ballot including all Gwinnett races, see the attached pdf file.

Don’t miss updates from Patch!