22 Aug 2014
73° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by cocktailsinthek

Hooch Honors 28 Multiple-Sport Athletes

Hooch Honors 28 Multiple-Sport Athletes

For the first time ever, Chattahoochee High School is honoring athletes who have earned at least four or more varsity letters in multiple sports.

By lettering in a variety of sports for multiple years, Milo Mathis, CHS Athletic Director, said athletes have shown "an unselfish willingness for participation, and a pride in and dedication to Chattahoochee High School." Excelling in multiple sports has a lasting impact on the school and teams, he said, and the new awards recognize athletes for their "dedication and perseverance that has gone well beyond the normal standards for athletic lettering qualification."

Three awards were created this year: Premier Letterman Award for athletes with four or more letters in multiple sports, Elite Letterman Award for athletes with six or more letters in multiple sports, and the Ultimate Letterman Award for athletes with 10 or more letters in multiple sports.

While 27 students were recognized in the first two categories, Claire Craddock was the only Hooch student to win the Ultimate Letterman Award. Craddock earned a total of 12 letters – four each in cross country, swim and track.

The other athletes honored include 14 Premier Letterman Award winners: Carrie Arnson, four swimming, 1 cross country; Alexis Bush, two cheer, one gymnastics and one basketball cheer; Erica Cook, two basketball cheer and two lacrosse; Akilah Guzman, two track and two basketball; Nora Hansen, four swimming, one cross country; Jordan Hillman, two football, three lacrosse; Sean Hoffman, one football, three wrestling; Savannah Howard, three cross country, one track; Caroline Jones, two football trainer, two basketball cheer, one soccer trainer; Aysia Key, two track, two basketball; Michaela Mason, two track, two basketball manager; Adrian Salazar, three tennis, two wrestling; Charity Starkes, two cross country, one track, two basketball; and Mickey Tomlinson, two football, three lacrosse.

And there were 13 Elite Letterman Award winners, including: Adam Abdellaoui, four football, three soccer; Christopher Berchock, three swimming, three lacrosse; Jordan Bush, three football trainer, two basketball cheer, two soccer; Hunter Fusco, three football, three lacrosse; Hailey Gatins, four cheer, three lacrosse; Katie Hegebarth, three softball, three basketball; Mandy King, three cross country, four swimming; Chase Nelson, four football, four track; Becca Palermo, four basketball cheer, four lacrosse; Adam Perleberg, four football, three baseball; Malik Stephens, four football, two lacrosse; Avery Ward, four football, three basketball; and Trevor Weigle, four cross country, two track.

Share This Article