15 Sep 2014
65° Overcast
Patch Instagram photo by longunderwearman
Patch Instagram photo by quadrofoglio
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by healthandbeautynz
Patch Instagram photo by andreagazeapt
Patch Instagram photo by reh_22
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by pespatchpsp

KSU Dean to Receive Charter Award

Dr. Arlinda J. Eaton is the dean of the Bagwell College of Education at Kennesaw State University.

KSU Dean to Receive Charter Award

The dean of Kennesaw State University's Bagwell College of Education today will receive the 2012 Charter Schools Impact Award from the Georgia Charter Schools Association.

Dr. Arlinda J. Eaton is one of five school choice advocates who will receive the honor during the association's 10th anniversary conference at the Georgia World Congress Center. Other recipients include Georgia Senate Majority Leader Chip Rogers (R-Woodstock) and Rep. Jan Jones (R-Milton).

Under Eaton's tenure at Bagwell, the school partnered with the Georgia Charter Schools Association and Lake Oconee Academy in Greene County to train a new generation of charter school leaders. A United States Department of Education Dissemination Grant for promoting research-validated practices in high performing charter schools supports the project.

The association's gathering comes as Georgians prepare to go to the polls next month to vote on a . In May 2011, the state's highest court struck down the Georgia Charter Schools Commission as unconstitutional.

Don’t miss any of the local news you care about. Subscribe to  Kennesaw Patch’s free newsletterlike us on Facebook and  follow us on Twitter.

Share This Article