20 Aug 2014
71° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch
Patch Instagram photo by laurabarreto87
Patch Instagram photo by lghtwght

How Gwinnett Precincts Voted in the 2012 Election

Mitt Romney won 98 of Gwinnett's 156 precincts.

How Gwinnett Precincts Voted in the 2012 Election How Gwinnett Precincts Voted in the 2012 Election

On Election Day 2012, Mitt Romney drew 54 percent of the Gwinnett County vote by winning 98 of the county’s 156 precincts.

According to unofficial results available on the Georgia Secretary of State website, Romney finished with 159,563 votes, compared to 131,879 for President Barack Obama, who won re-election nationwide.

Romney dominated the vote in the county from Peachtree Corners up the Chattahoochee River to Buford, across the northern part of Gwinnett to Dacula and through a swath mostly north of U.S 78 between Snellville and Lilburn.

See also:

President Obama, on the other hand, did well in between Norcross and Lilburn, up I-85 to the northern areas of Lawrenceville, and the southern corner of the county south of U.S. 78.

Romney’s biggest wins came in the Duncans A (12 Stone Church), C (Hamilton Mill UMC) and D (Hamilton Mill Christian Church) precincts, all in the Dacula area, by taking 80, 79 and 79 percent of those votes, respectively.

President Obama’s biggest margin was at the Martins E (Ferguson Elementary School) precinct, a new site bordering I-85 in unincorporated Duluth, where he won 87.1 percent. The President also scored better than 80 percent at Pinckneyville N (Landmark Church) and Pinckneyville Q (Beaver Ruin Baptist Church).

The two closest precincts were Pinckneyville T (First Chinese Baptist Church, Duluth), where Romney won 746 to 730 (Libertarian Gary Johnson had 29 votes), and Martins I (Amazing Grace Lutheran, Lawrenceville), where Obama won 1,413 to 1,387 (Johnson also had 29).

Interested in more?

  • How Lilburn Voted for President in 2012
  • Op-Ed: President's Re-Election Shows Country Wasn't 'Fooled' by Romney
  • Lilburn Votes: 'A Poll Manager's Dream'
  • Lilburn Votes: First Voters at Berean Baptist Church

Share This Article