14 Sep 2014
66° Overcast
Patch Instagram photo by cocktailsinthek

3 Gwinnett Commissioners To Be Sworn in Sunday

Group swearing-in ceremony will take place at the Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center. The public is welcome to attend.

3 Gwinnett Commissioners To Be Sworn in Sunday 3 Gwinnett Commissioners To Be Sworn in Sunday 3 Gwinnett Commissioners To Be Sworn in Sunday

Former Suwanee Council Member Jace Brooks and two other Gwinnett commissioners will be sworn in to new terms on Sunday, December 30.

Also, Gwinnett County District 3 Commissioner-elect Tommy Hunter, and Commission Chairman Charlotte Nash will be sworn in at the Gwinnett County Justice and Administration Center in Lawrenceville.

Nash, who has served 18 months as chairman since winning a special election in March of 2011, was unopposed in both the primary and general elections and will begin a four-year term in January.

Hunter defeated two-term commissioner Mike Beaudreau in the August runoff and was unopposed in the general election. He takes office in January.

Brooks took office in September after he was the sole candidate to qualify for a special election to fill the District 1 vacancy. He defeated Laurie McClain of Duluth in the July GOP primary.

Chief Magistrate George F. Hutchinson III will administer the oath of office and preside over the ceremony.

The ceremony is open to the public and will take place at 3 p.m. at the Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center, 75 Langley Drive in Lawrenceville.

Don’t miss any Suwanee news. Subscribe to  Suwanee Patch’s free newsletter, like us on  Facebook and  follow us on Twitter.

Share This Article