15 Sep 2014
57° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by patch
Patch Instagram photo by patch
Patch Instagram photo by patch

Dozens of Candidates File for Area Board Seats

Nearly 30 candidates filed for 14 open board seats prior to Monday's deadline. Here are the candidates that voters will choose from on April 5, 2011.

Dozens of Candidates File for Area Board Seats

Nearly 15 seats across four governing boards will be up for grabs April 5, 2011.

When residents cast their vote, the landscape of each board could be completely different. And by the looks of filings, voters certainly will have their options.

Village Clerk Carol Penning said the Village of Bolingbrook, which has four board seats open, had more candidates filing petitions than in normal years. Nine residents have thrown their hat in the ring. 

Meanwhile, the Valley View school board has 10 candidates vying for four open seats.

Here's a complete list of candidates running for each board (all candidates are from Bolingbrook unless otherwise noted):

Village of Bolingbrook Board of Trustees

(3 seats open)

First Party for Bolingbrook

  • Leroy J. Brown *
  • Rick "Ricardo" Morales *
  • Patricia E. Schanks *

Independent Candidates

  • Robert Bowen 
  • Bonnie Alicea
  • Rhonda Reed-Slaughter 
  • Cousy Nash
  • Kenneth R. Cygan  
  • Joseph L. Naponiello

Valley view school district 365u Board of education

4-year seats (3 seats open)

  • Steve Quigley  *
  • Leonel "Leo" Venegas (Romeoville) *
  • Richard "Rick" Gougis, III (Romeoville) *
  • April Gavin 
  • Philip A. Wilson 
  • Claudia Simmons
  • Kenneth Harris 
  • Kenneth Williams 

2-year seats (1 seat open)

  • Chrystal Hansen 
  • Robert Leach (Romeoville)

fountaindale public library board of trustees

6-year term (2 seats open)

  • Ruth Newell *
  • Bob Kalnicky *

4-year term (2 seats open)

  • Steven Prodehl *
  • Kyra M. Lopez
  • Thomas Gilligan * 

Bolingbrook park district board of commissioners 

4-year term (3 seats open)

  • Sue Vastalo *
  • Al Traczek *
  • Jerry Hix *

* indicates an incumbent to that board

Share This Article