23 Aug 2014
82° Mostly Cloudy

From the Archives: Lemont's Boys of Summer, 1928

Take a glimpse into Lemont’s history courtesy of the Lemont Area Historical Society.

From the Archives: Lemont's Boys of Summer, 1928

With Cubs and Sox Spring training just around the corner, baseball season won’t be far behind. This week, the historical society takes us back to summer memories of the crack of a wooden bat and the thrill of a favorite player rounding the bases. 

Members of the 1928 Lemont baseball team are, from left, bottom row: George Freehauf, Pete M., Syl Nona, Jim Lynch, Tom Hennebery, Tye Krivikas, Dan Larson and  H. Sniegowski; and top row:  Phil Steck, John Dillman, John Alfelt, John Goodwin, Alex Novak, Ray Goodwin and Joe Summers.

- - - - - - - - - - - - -

Discover more about Lemont history at the Lemont Area Historical Society Museum in the Old Stone Church at 306 Lemont St. The museum is open to the public and welcomes visitors. For more information, visit the LAHS web site at http://www.lemonthistorical.org/ or contact lemontahs@sbcglobal.net.

The Lemont Area Historical Society also invites readers to share their photos of Lemont’s past, to be added to the LAHS archives.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

There are plenty of ways to keep up on Lemont news:

Share This Article