20 Aug 2014
78° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by patch
Patch Instagram photo by uactheatre

D15 April Election: 9 Candidates Vie for 4 Open Seats

Three incumbents are running again, and the fourth open seat will be Board President Tim Millar's, who is running for District 1 councilman. A number of hot-button issues have come to the surface over the last month.

D15 April Election: 9 Candidates Vie for 4 Open Seats

Four seats will be open on the District 15 school board for the April 9 election, with nine candidates on the ballot.

There have been a number of polarizing issues that have popped up in the last couple of months in District 15. Issues that current and future board members will have to deal with.  

In mid-December, 2012, . 

Then, proposed schedule changes for District 15 students to accomodate more training and development time for teachers also met with frustration and concerns from parents earlier this month. 

A recent letter to the editor summed up at least one perspective on what parents are grappling with due to the potential early starts or late dismissals to allow for development time for teachers during the current school schedule. 

Among those running for the District 15 school board are incumbents Margaret (Peggy) Babcock and Richard L. Bokor, who were both elected in 2009.  

David Seiffert who was appointed to the seat vacated by former D15 board member Mark Bloom in 2011. 

Other candidates for the open seats are Matthew Lyons, Jennifer Zold, Donna Johnson, Ramnath Cidambi, Abdul Javid and James G. Ekeberg. 

Share This Article