22 Aug 2014
78° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by reinehby

NCJW to Honor Outstanding Volunteers

NCJW to Honor Outstanding Volunteers
The National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) Chicago North Shore Section will honor a Highland Park and a Chicago resident at its upcoming Installation and Awards Luncheon on Monday, June 23rd at Di Pescara Restaurant in Northbrook.


Cindy Wolfson of Highland Park will receive the prestigious Hannah G. Solomon Award and Carolee Caplan will receive the Enduring Leader Award.


The Hannah G. Solomon award is bestowed on an individual whose leadership in improving the quality of life for women, children, and families has motivated others to fight for change, and has resulted in progress and enlightenment in the community.  It commemorates the spirit of Hannah G. Solomon, who established the National Council of Jewish Women in Chicago in 1893. 


Cindy Wolfson is a lifelong community activist and advocate for women, children and families.  She has served both the Chicago North Section and the NCJW national in numerous capacities, including Chicago North Shore Section President, State Policy Advocacy Chair of Illinois for six years, and Chair of the Encore & More Resale Shop Steering Committee. In 1997 she established the Illinois Silent Witness Exhibit to raise awareness of the dangers of domestic violence.  Ms. Wolfson led the Illinois delegation to the first Domestic Violence March in Washington, D.C.  Through NCJW she was instrumental in starting the first domestic violence Courtwatch program in the Chicago area at the Skokie court.


Carolee Caplan is also a life-long advocate for women, children and families. She has been a member of NCJW for more than 20 years and is currently completing her sixth year as Illinois State Policy Advocacy Chair. She is a past Section President and NCJW National Commissioner.  Carolee has also served on the National Nominating Committee and has been a member of the Encore & More Steering Committee for the past ten years.

At the event, NCJW will install board members Stacy Saef and Donna Gutman for a two-year term as Co-Presidents. Their leadership team will include Donna Fishman, Elana Boiskin, Jill Hurwitz, Sharon Wolfson, Stephanie Victor, Rachel Friedman, Ruthann Tovian, Tina Cantrell, Beth Gordon, Lorna Cohen, and Claire Bernstein.


For more information or to RSVP or make a tribute, visit ncjwcns.org or call 847-853-8889.

The National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) is a grassroots organization of volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action through cultural and educational programs, social action and community service projects, and advocacy.  Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.



Share This Article