22 Aug 2014
78° Drizzle
Patch Instagram photo by gem.storm

Maryland Municipal League Elects Mayor Bruce Wahl 2014-15 President

Maryland Municipal League Elects Mayor Bruce Wahl 2014-15 President
The Maryland Municipal League (MML), representing 157 Maryland municipal governments and two special taxing districts, elected Chesapeake Beach Mayor Bruce A. Wahl 2014-15 President. Mayor Wahl received the oath of office in a ceremony during the 2014 MML Annual Convention held at the Ocean City Convention Center from June 8-11. 

Wahl is preceded by immediate past president Carl L. Anderton Jr., Mayor of Delmar. He will serve a one year term in that role. Wahl has been a MML Board Member since 2010, having previously served as president-elect, Convention Planning Committee Chairman and Vice Chairman, and IT Committee Chairman.

Wahl has an extensive background as a public servant, has served on the Chesapeake Beach Council from 1989 to 2008 and acted as Mayor since 2008. In addition, Mayor Wahl is a member of the MML Hall of Fame and a member of the Academy Council for the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance. He is a U.S. Army Vietnam Veteran and Leadership Maryland Class of 2003 graduate. He is also a proud father of four and grandfather to nine.

“Thank you to my fellow members for electing me as their president,” said Bruce A. Wahl, MML President and Chesapeake Beach Mayor. “I am honored and pleased to take on this new role with MML.”

In addition to Wahl, the following will serve as MML’s 2014-15 officers and Board of Directors:

President Elect: Spencer R. Schlosnagle, Mayor, Friendsville

Immediate Past President: Carl L. Anderton, Jr., Mayor, Delmar


District Vice Presidents:

Laura Mitchell, Council Vice President, Salisbury

Perry A. Stutman, Commission President, Queenstown

Stephanie C. Rawlings-Blake, Mayor, Baltimore

Stewart B. Cumbo, Councilman, Chesapeake Beach

Bridget Donnell Newton, Mayor, Rockville

Lawrence “Jake” Romanell, Councilman, New Market

Nicole Wagoner, Councilwoman, Cumberland

Howard W. Long, Assistant Mayor, Boonsboro

Emmett V. Jordan, Mayor, Greenbelt

James L. Eberhardt, Mayor, Perryville

Christopher M. Nevin, Mayor, Hampstead



Michael E. Bennett, Mayor, Aberdeen,

Michael Benton, Councilmember, North Beach

Donna L. Crary, Councilmember, Laurel

Gregory Dotson, Council Vice President, North Beach

Tracy Farrish Gant, Mayor, Edmonston

Perry L. Jones, Mayor, Union Bridge

Denise C. Mitchell, Mayor Pro Tem, College Park

H. Gage Thomas, Commissioner, Cambridge

Kevin R. Utz, Mayor, Westminster

Bruce R. Williams, Mayor, Takoma Park


Department Representatives:

City and Town Administrators

Marylou Berg, Communications Manager, Rockville

Municipal Attorneys

Elissa Levan, Municipal Attorney, Bowie, Chesapeake Beach, Church Hill and Westminster

Municipal Clerks

Awilda Hernandez, City Clerk, Bowie

Code Enforcement and Zoning

John Fulbright, Code Enforcement Officer, New Carrollton

Municipal Parks and Recreation

Greg M. Varda, Assistant Director of Recreation, Greenbelt

Municipal Police Executives

Douglas K. Holland, Police Chief, Hyattsville

Municipal Public Works

Robert T. (Bob) Stumpff, Director of Public Works, College Park

NLC Board Member Michael A. Sesma, Councilmember, Gaithersburg (Ex Officio)

Share This Article