22 Aug 2014
72° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch

First Challenger Pulls Papers for Attleboro Election

Jim Poore says the City Council needs new faces and fresh ideas.

First Challenger Pulls Papers for Attleboro Election

The first week to begin the process toward becoming a candidate in the 2013 Attleboro election featured mostly incumbents pulling papers for potential bids for local positions. Jim Poore of Downing Drive became the first potential newcomer in the election when he pulled papers Friday for the at-large City Council contest.

Poore, who has not run in any previous local election, wrote in an email to Attleboro Patch that he is "pretty sure" he will run for a council seat. He wrote that he has a good support base and received encouraging words from people when he told them he may run.

"I am thinking about a run because I think the City Council needs some new faces and fresh ideas," Poore wrote. "I am a Republican, and even though many on the council are of the same party, I know I can offer different thoughts and viewpoints. I know many residents of the city are tired of the same old, same old of local politics. I am hoping I can start to change that."

All elected city positions—including the mayor's office, 11 city council seats and nine school committee seats—are up for grabs in the fall election. A preliminary contest will take place Sept. 17, if needed. The regular election will be held Nov. 5. Candidates have until July 30 to return papers to City Hall with the required number of signatures from Attleboro residents.

Others who pulled papers (all incumbents seeking renewals of their current positions) this week were:

  • Mayor Kevin Dumas
  • City Clerk Betty Shockroo
  • City Collector Deb Marcoccio
  • City Treasurer Ethel Sandbach
  • At-large Councilor Jay DiLisio
  • At-large Councilor Richard Conti
  • At-large Councilor Peter Blais
  • At-large Councilor Brian Kirby
  • Ward 1 Councilor Walter Thibodeau
  • Ward 2 Councilor Mark Cooper
  • Ward 4 Councilor Jonathan Weydt
  • Ward 5 Councilor Jeremy Denlea
  • Ward 6 Councilor Shannon Heagney
  • At-large School Committee member David Murphy
  • Ward 2 School Committee member Bill Larson
  • Ward 3 School Committe member Chris O'Neil
  • Ward 4 School Committee member Brenda Furtado

Share This Article