22 Aug 2014
62° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch

Lexington Lions Club Soliciting White Tricorne Hat Nominations

Honor to be presented on Patriots Day.

Lexington Lions Club Soliciting White Tricorne Hat Nominations

The following information is from the Lexington Lions Club: 

On Patriots Day, April 18, 2011, the Lexington Lions Club will again present, as it has each year since 1954, a White Tricorne Hat honoring an outstanding resident ofLexington.

This year’s award will be presented during the morning ceremonies on theBattle Green by Lions Club President, John Lucente. The Lions Club is now soliciting nominations for this honor from the public.

The award criteria that the White Tricorne Hat Committee uses to judge the nominees areas follows. First, the candidate must be a current resident of Lexington and not a major elective office holder.

Second, the candidate must have demonstrated a dedication to the principles of outstanding citizenship and must have advanced the American way of life in Lexington by giving unselfishly of his or her time and talents over the years beyond the normal bounds of his or her occupation. The award is made without regard to sex, race or religious affiliation.

The committee is composed not only of a representative of the Lexington Lions Club, but also of a representative of each of the following organizations: Lexington InterfaithClergy Association, Lexington Rotary Club, Lexington Chamber of Commerce, Lexington Lodge of Elks, and the Lexington Historical Society.

In addition, the two most recent recipients of the award are voting members of the committee. This year, they are the 2009 recipient Nicholas Cannalonga and the 2010 recipient Dave Eagle.

Nomination forms are available online at the Lions Club website, as well as at the following businesses in Lexington: and Also, please check our website for recently added locations.

Completed forms, and any letters of support for a nominee, should be mailed to the Chairman, Mark McCullough, P.O. Box 71, Lexington, 02420. Forms and letters must be received by April 8th.

The committee sincerely hopes that a large number of nominations are received and that they include all the many talented and generous people in Lexington who are truly deserving of this award. The committee will then have the difficult task, as it always has, of selecting the one best nominee for the award.

Past recipients are ineligible. They are:

  • 2010 Dave Eagle
  • 2009 Nicholas Cannalonga
  • 2008 David Wells
  • 2007 BeverlyKelley
  • 2006 Winston “Pat” Flynn
  • 2005 Elsa Sullivan
  • 2004 Leo McSweeney
  • 2003 Jack Maloney
  • 2002 Donald Wilson
  • 2001 Peter Kelley
  • 2000 Dan Fenn Jr.
  • 1999 Robert Cataldo
  • 1998 William Dailey, Jr.
  • 1997 David G. Williams
  • 1996 Clarence Turner
  • 1995 Lillian MacArthur
  • 1994 Mark Moore
  • 1993 Marion Fitzpatrick
  • 1992 Lynn Wilson
  • 1991 Jackie Ward
  • 1990 Allan Kenney
  • 1989 Paul Mazerall
  • 1988 Lincoln P. Cole,Jr.
  • 1987 Mary McDonough
  • 1986 Msgr. John P. Kielty
  • 1985 Gordon Steele
  • 1984 S.Lawrence Whipple
  • 1983 Cornelius Cronin
  • 1982 George P. Wadsworth
  • 1981 Dr. Mary Perry
  • 1980 William Fitzgerald
  • 1979 Roland Greeley
  • 1978 Donald Gillespie
  • 1977 Levi Burnell
  • 1976 Ruth Morey
  • 1975 Richard A. Michelson
  • 1974 Irving H. Mabee
  • 1973 Louis A. Zehne
  • 1972 George W. Emery
  • 1971 Louis Tropeano
  • 1970 Michael Vidette
  • 1969 Dr. Winthrop Harrington
  • 1968 Alan G. Adams
  • 1967 Donald E. Nickerson
  • 1966 Joseph O. Rooney
  • 1965 Msgnr. George W. Casey
  • 1964 Mrs. Eleanor B. Litchfield
  • 1963 Margaret Keefe
  • 1962 Albert G. Frothingham
  • 1961 William R. Greeley
  • 1960 Thomas S. Grindle
  • 1959 Dr. Fred S. Piper
  • 1958 William E. Maloney
  • 1957 Harold T. Handley
  • 1956 John Garrity
  • 1955 Albert Burnham
  • 1954 Edwin B. Worthen

Share This Article