23 Aug 2014
71° Mostly Cloudy

Lynnfield Parishes Included In Archdiocese Plan

Full implementation of plan is expected over the next five years. Total of 28 parishes in the Boston area included.

Lynnfield Parishes Included In Archdiocese Plan

[Editor's note: This is a lightly-edited press release from the Archdiocese of Boston.]

Lynnfield’s two Catholic churches are included in the 12 Phase One parish collaboratives announced by the Archdiocese in Boston this week. The collaboratives are part of the official launch of Disciples in Mission – A Pastoral Plan for the Archdiocese of Boston.  Last November (2012), Cardinal Seán O’Malley announced his formal acceptance of the plan. The full implementation of the pastoral plan will take place over the next five years, according to a statement from the Archdiocese.

 “Disciples in Mission is the result of the work of a community of faithful people who love the Church,” said the Cardinal. “During this first phase, we pledge our full support to the dedicated priests, parish staffs, parishioners and lay volunteers who will lead the way for our efforts to fully embrace the New Evangelization.”

Phase One will comprise 12 collaboratives, consisting of 28 Parishes.

1.      Saint Luke and Saint Joseph, Belmont

2.      Saint Mary, Saint Margaret, Saint John, Beverly

3.      Saint Mary, Saint Theresa, Saint Andrew, Billerica

4.      Saint Mary, Brookline (a one parish collaborative)

5.      Saint Mary of the Angels, Roxbury and Saint Thomas and Our Lady of Lourdes, Jamaica Plain

6.      Saint Mary and Sacred Heart, Lynn

7.      Our Lady of the Assumption and Saint Maria Goretti, Lynnfield

8.      Saint Lucy and Saint Monica, Methuen

9.      Sacred Heart, Middleboro and Saints Martha and Mary, Lakeville

10.  Sacred Heart and Our Lady Help of Christians, Newton

11.  Saint James, Saint John, Immaculate Conception, and Saint Anne, Salem

12.  Saint Jerome and Immaculate Conception, Weymouth

Detailed information about each collaborative, including 23 year histories of Mass counts and Sacramental statistics, maps, links to Parish websites, and in-depth three year financial reports on the Parishes of each collaborative, are available at http://www.disciplesinmission.com.

The Pastoral Plan groups the parishes of the Archdiocese into approximately 135 collaboratives.  Each parish maintains its own identity within the assigned collaborative. Each parish retains its canonical rights its buildings, its financial assets and obligations. The collaborative will have one Pastor who will work with one Pastoral Team, one Parish Pastoral Council and one Parish Finance Council.  Together they will develop a pastoral plan for their local collaborative, focused on serving the needs of the parishes in their particular collaborative and advancing the mission of the New Evangelization.  The formation of the parish collaboratives will be phased in, with appropriate flexibility, over a period of five years.  Pastors, pastoral teams, and councils of each parish collaborative will participate in extensive theological and practical training for the New Evangelization. 

Father Paul Soper, director of Pastoral Planning, said Phase One is  a "learning phase."

"These Phase One collaboratives are a cross section of the Archdiocese, geographically distributed, representing collaboratives of a variety of sizes, financial situations, ethnic realities, and pastoral needs.  They include rural, suburban, and urban Parishes."

In order to keep the work transparent and open, Soper noted that a regular stream of information will be posted on http://www.disciplesinmission.com, so that people can review it and share their experiences.

Here are some dates for Phase One:

1.      January 10, 2013:  The 12 Phase One Collaboratives are announced.

2.      March, 2013:  The Pastors are named.

3.      May and June, 2013:  The Pastors are trained.

4.      July 1, 2013:  The Collaboratives are formally inaugurated.

5.      September, 2013:  The Pastoral Teams, Parish Councils, Parish Finance Councils, and School Boards begin their training.

6.      October, 2013 – January, 2014:  The Pastoral Teams are trained in their own sites

7.      January, 2014:  The Local Pastoral Plan Development Team is trained, and begins their work

8.      December, 2014:  The Local Pastoral Plan Development Team completes their work, presents it to Cardinal Seán.

9.      January, 2015:  The Collaborative begins to work, and to evaluate their work, under the structure of the Local Pastoral Plan.

Share This Article