14 Sep 2014
56° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by longunderwearman
Patch Instagram photo by quadrofoglio
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by healthandbeautynz
Patch Instagram photo by andreagazeapt
Patch Instagram photo by reh_22
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by pespatchpsp

Ballot Set for Milton Town Election

The races for town officials in the April 24 Town Election have been solidified.

Ballot Set for Milton Town Election

The Milton Town Election is April 24 and the field for town officials is now set. There are several contested races, including two candidates for one Board of Selectmen position and a four-person election for Town Clerk.

Selectman John Michael Shields is a candidate for re-election. Denis Keohane, a current member of the Milton School Committee, will challenge Shields.

Four candidates will contend for Town Clerk. James Mullen has retired from the position after 36 years. Despite other residents expressing interest in the office, the following candidates have filed: David Conlin, Susan Galvin, Michael Joyce and Marion McEttrick.

The assessor election will be contested once again by James Henderson. Henderson will challenge William Bennett, after taking 47 percent of the vote last spring against assessor M. Joseph Manning.

Three three-year terms are currently open on the Milton Public Library Board of Trustees. Incumbents Brendan McLaughlin and Barbara Mason will be challenged by Sheryl Fleitman and Herbert Voigt.

Raymond Czwakiel will run unopposed for a one-year term as a Library Trustee. Czwakiel took over the position vacated by Ingrid Shaffer, last September.

There are several other uncontested races including: James McAuliffe, Town Treasurer; Lynda-Lee Sheridan and Mary Kelly, School Committee; Stephen Affanato, Park Commissioner; Timothy Jay Lowney, Board of Health; Paul Dolan, Trustees of the Milton Cemetery; Joseph Murphy, Housing Authority; and Michael Kelly and Cheryl Friedman Tougias, Planning Board.

No other candidates can enter these races as of Tuesday, March 6, at 5 p.m.

Check back with Milton Patch for more information about these campaigns and the Town Meeting elections.

Share This Article