Jul 25, 2014

Incumbents in Natick Win Re-Election

Only 7.2 percent of voters cast ballots, according to unofficial results.

Incumbents in Natick Win Re-Election

All of Natick’s incumbent town officials will be heading back to their seats after winning re-election on March 25, in the annual town election.

There were only two town-wide contested races and the incumbents won them easily.

In the School Committee race, Dirk Coburn Jr. and Amy Mistrot easily bested Michael Dempsey, by large percentages, according to the unofficial results. Mistrot topped the ticket with more than 1,100 votes while Coburn received 951. Dempsey received 438. There were also 43 write-in votes.

In the other contested race, the Board of Health, Ian Wong fended off a challenge from Robert Canning, by a more than three-to-one margin, 1,056 to 310.

Two running for Board of Selectmen – Nicholas Mabardy and John Connolly – were elected by default because they didn’t have challengers.

Also winning by default were Anne Vinick and David Parish for Housing Authority seats; Peter Nottonson for a Planning Board seat; John Wadsworth for an associate member Planning Board seat; Stephen Hansen for the Board of Assessors; and Michael Fair and Richard Cugini for Rec Parks Commission.

According to the unofficial returns from Town Clerk Diane Packer, 1,620 voters out of 22,568 registered, cast ballots, or 7.18 percent. 

Don’t miss updates from Patch!