21 Aug 2014
64° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by itsakelliething

Can Deutsche Bank Championship Champs Add Another Crown?

Only Vijay Singh has been able to win two Deutsche Bank Championship titles.

Can Deutsche Bank Championship Champs Add Another Crown?

For the Deutsche Bank Championship, it’s been very difficult to get into the win column for two straight years.

The in Norton hasn't been hospitable to its champions.

In fact, it’s been hard to win the tournament even twice. Only Vijay Singh has been able to accomplish that feat. He won in 2004, finishing 16-under and then won in 2008 with a blistering 22-under. Singh is one of the favorites in this year’s tournament and has certainly played well on the Norton layout.

A year ago, Charley Hoffman tied Singh’s 22-under mark and will be back for a shot at another title.

Other past champs in the field are Adam Scott, who used the first Deutsche Bank Championship as an emerging star, winning in 2003. Phil Mickelson and Steve Strickler are in the field.

Tiger Woods stopped his season earlier and isn’t playing at DBC or taking part in the FedExCup this year. His presence is still felt in Norton as his charitable organization is one of charities Deutsche Bank Championship supports.

Olin Browne was part of a summer where the “older” guys won in 2005. Browne now plays on the Senior Tour. Brad Faxon, the Rhode Island native, who has been involved at TPC-Boston since the beginning, won the stop before in Connecticut.


2003-Adam Scott -20

2004-Vijay Singh -16

2005-Olin Browne -14

2006-Tiger Woods -16

2007-Phil Mickelson -16

2008-Vijay Singh -22

2009-Steve Strickler -17

2010-Charley Hoffman -22

Share This Article