21 Aug 2014
69° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by sarahhhhh_f
Patch Instagram photo by revfan6
Patch Instagram photo by matt_scabia

Gallery: Stoughton High Fall Sports Awards Night (2012)

Thirty SHS student-athletes were recognized Monday night (12/10) for their performance on and off the field of play.

The Stoughton High athletic community gathered Monday evening in the SHS auditorium to celebrate the end of the fall sports season.

Thirty student-athletes were honored for their performance on and off the field this season.

Awards for team MVP, sportsmanship and scholar athlete were presented (full list of award winners below).

The players on each respective team vote for the team MVP and for the sportsmanship recipient. The Scholar Athlete award goes to the athlete on the team with the highest grade point average.

The football team unanimously voted to give the most valuable player award to . The Black Knights dedicated the remainder of the season to Wade, with his #56 jersey placed on the Stoughton bench each game.

An emotional Greg Burke, head coach of the team, announced the award which drew a standing ovation from those in attendance.

In addition to team awards, twelve athletes in seven different sports were named Hockomock League All-Stars. The Hockomock coaches vote for League All-Stars.

There were plenty of team-wide honors as well.

The boys' and girls' cross country teams and girls' soccer team were recipients of the Hockomock League team sportsmanship award in their respective sports.

Meanwhile, the varsity and junior varsity volleyball teams were recipients of the MIAA gold medal for academic excellence. The volleyball program (which made the state tournament for the second straight season) also raised more than $3,000 for the American Cancer Society thanks to its "5 For a Cure" 5K walk and "Dig for a Cure" annual fundraising match vs. Sharon.

And, Burke was named the Association of Independent Football Officials 2012 Coach of the Year, an honor which recognizes his team's success on the field (nine wins tie a single-season school record) and its respectful and professional treatment of game officials.

See the list below for all the individual award recipients (photos posted in the media gallery):

Boys' Cross Country
David Lockhart
Wayne Barnaby
Alec DeNapoli
Girls' Cross Country
Amy Kelly
Kerry O'Neil Katie Daly

Amy Kelly

Kerry O'Neil

Boys' SoccerMike Gallagher
Cameron Ramos
Cameron Ramos
Mike GallagherGirls' SoccerMegan Crimmins Niamh Fennessy
Niamh Fennessy Niamh FennessyCheerleadingIsabella Hobbs Madeline Sinkus
Madeline Rosen
GolfMichael Milavec Peter Cariofiles David Elmowitz Michael MilavecField HockeyNicole Kerman
Kelsie LaFerriere
Beth Sloane
Masha LourieFootballDavid Wade
Brett Hoffman
Kevin McDonald

Adam Leonard, Aaron Mack, Marcus Middleton, Frankie Morris

VolleyballEmma Zuk
Lauren Carmichael
Nicole Daniels

Nicole Daniels

Emma Zuk

Photo Gallery

Share This Article