Jul 28, 2014
Mostly Cloudy

Dearborn Schools Congratulates Re-Elected Board Members

Aimee Blackburn and Mary Lane will continue another term as trustees of the Dearborn Public Schools and Henry Ford Community College Boards of Education.

Dearborn Schools Congratulates Re-Elected Board Members

Come Jan. 1, Aimee Blackburn and Mary Lane will both begin their fourth term as trustee for the Dearborn Public Schools Board of Education.

Blackburn and Lane emerged as the winners of two seats on the board in Tuesday's general election. They gained 17,868 and 15,678 votes, respectively.

Former board member Mary Petlichkoff, who lost her seat in 2011 to board newcomer Roxanne McDonald, was unsuccessful in her campaign to return to the board. Petlichkoff received 12,863 votes.

More: Find more results and election day stories on Dearborn Patch.

In a statement released Wednesday, DPS congratulated the candidates on their campaigns.

"The district looks forward to working with Ms. Blackburn and Ms. Lane as we all continue our efforts to improve student success at all grade levels," the statement said. "We also encourage Ms. Petlichkoff to remain active and continue her involvement with both the city and schools."

 The district also thanked all three candidates for their dedication to local schools.

"All three of these outstanding citizens came forward to run for public office with the intention of helping all children who attend the Dearborn Public Schools," the district said. "Although the vote totals tell us who won and who was defeated, all three of these women are winners for wanting to give of themselves to make a difference in the lives of the students in our classrooms."

Lane and Blackburn will serve 6-year terms on the board, thanks to changes in state law that lengthened terms for trustees serving on a P-14 board that also serves a community college.

The Dearborn school board is the only in the state that also serves as the board of a college–in this case, Henry Ford Community College.

The district also congratulated Dearborn resident and Chairman of the Dearborn Education Foundation Brian Mosallam, who was elected to the Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Don’t miss updates from Patch!