15 Sep 2014
44° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by longunderwearman
Patch Instagram photo by quadrofoglio
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by healthandbeautynz
Patch Instagram photo by andreagazeapt
Patch Instagram photo by reh_22
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by pespatchpsp

Oakland Township: What's on the Primary Ballot

Oakland Township residents will have a busy time in the booth, voting on a variety of candidates and even two millages on Aug. 7.

Oakland Township: What's on the Primary Ballot

The are now only week away, and the ballot for Oakland Township is filled with much than local positions. Residents will be voting on county, state and national positions in addition to two millages.

Here is a list of candidates on the ballot, and it should be noted that some residents will be voting in the 45th congressional district while others will be voting in the 46th:

U.S. Senate

  • Clark Durant (R)
  • Gary Glenn (R)
  • Randy Hekman (R)
  • Pete Hoekstra (R)
  • Debbie Stabenow (D)

Congressional Representative (8th District)

  • Mike Rogers (R)
  • Brian Hetrick (R)
  • Vernon Molnar (R)
  • Lance Enderle (D)

State Representative (45th District)

  • Tom McMillin (R)
  • Ted Golden (D)
  • Joanna Van Raaphorst (D)
  • Douglas Wilson (D)

State Representative (46th District)

  • Bradford Jacobsen (R)
  • Daniel W. Sargeant (D)
  • David Jay Lillis (D)

County Executive

  • L. Brooks Patterson (R)
  • E. Wadsworth Sherrod III (R)
  • Kevin Howley (D)

County Prosecuting Attorney

  • Mike Bishop (R)
  • Jessica Cooper (D)

County Sheriff

  • Michael J. Bouchard (R)
  • James Stevens (R)
  • Jane Felice Boudreau (D)

County Register of Deeds

  • Bill Bullard, Jr. (R)
  • Lisa Brown (D)

Country Treasurer:

  • Marty Knollenberg (R)
  • Andy Meisner (D)

Water Resources Commissioner

  • John P. McCulloch (R)
  • Mark Danowski (D)

County Comissioner (1st District)

  • Michael J. Gingell (R)
  • Richard W. Yamin (R)
  • Jeff Vaught (D)

Township Trustees

  • Kathrine Thomas
  • Sharon McKay
  • Michael Bailey
  • Judy Keyes
  • Robin Buxar
  • Maureen Thalmann

Township Clerk

  • James Foulkrod
  • Karen Reilly
  • Judy Workings

    Township Treasurer

    • Marc Edwards
    • Jeanne Langlois 

    6th Circuit Court

    • Jason Pernick
    • Layne Ashley Sakwa
    • Dan Christ
    • Sahera Housey
    • Karen McDonald

    Residents will also be voting on millage for the Oakland County Art Institute Authority. The millage will last for 10 years and will cost "20 cents per $1,000 of taxable value" according to the ballot. The millage would fund art and art projects in Oakland County.

      In addition, there is also the renewal of an Historic District Commission operating millage for residents to vote on. This millage would also be last 10 years and would continue the upkeep of historic buildings within Oakland Township.

      The general election is Nov. 6.

      The League of Women Voters Oakland Area voter guide.

      Share This Article