22 Aug 2014
82° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by dearborngal
Patch Instagram photo by johnhetzler
Patch Instagram photo by johnhetzler
Patch Instagram photo by johnhetzler
Patch Instagram photo by johnhetzler
Patch Instagram photo by johnhetzler
Patch Instagram photo by christielove425

Wyandotte's 2013 Election Guide

Everything you need to know to be ready to vote May 7.

Wyandotte's 2013 Election Guide

Election day is almost here and Wyandotte residents are poised to vote on candidates for mayor, city council, assessor, clerk and treasurer.

The polls will be open 7 a.m.-8 p.m. Tuesday, May 7.

The last day to mail an absentee ballot is May 4. Absentee ballots can be delivered to the Wyandotte City Clerk's office in Wyandotte City Hall as late as 4 p.m. May 6.

Go to the Wyandotte City Clerks's website for more details on absentee voting.

There are no ballot proposals on the ballot.

Want to know more about any candidates before you cast your ballot? Check out the Patch Candidate Questionnaire and Candidate Video pages on Wyandotte Patch.

For a full sample ballot for your area—and to make sure you're registered to vote—visit the Michigan Voter Information Center. There's also a sample ballot provided in the photo section of this article.

Wyandotte Candidates

Here is a listing of candidates running for office:

Assessor (one elected) 

  • Jerry Kupser
  • Tom Woodruff

City Clerk 

  • William Griggs (I) (unopposed)

City Council (six elected) 

  • Daniel Galeski (I) 
  • Theodore Galeski
  • Johnny Kolakowski
  • Ted Miciura
  • Leonard Sabuda (I)
  • Don Schultz
  • Lawrence Stec (I)
  • Sheri Sutherby-Fricke (I)
  • Kevin VanBoxell
  • Val Zavala


  • Joseph Peterson (I) (unopposed)


  • Todd Browning (unopposed)

(I) denotes an incumbent

Precinct Voting Locations

On its website, the clerk's office offers a map of all 10 Wyandotte precincts and their polling locations or click on the map of polling locations in the photo section of this article.

Precinct 1: Downriver Italian American Hall, 646 Biddle Avenue

Precinct 2: The Copeland Center, 2306 Fourth Street

Precinct 3: The Yack Arena, 3131 Third Street

Precinct 4 and 5: VFW Post 1136, 633 Ford Avenue

Precinct 6: Our Lady of Mt. Carmel School, 2609 Tenth Street

Precinct 7 and 10: The Lincoln Center, 1940 Ludington

Precinct 8: Wilson Middle School, 1275 Fifteenth Street

Precinct 9: Washington Elementary School, 1440 Superior Boulevard

For the latest Wyandotte news and information, "like" Wyandotte Patch on  Facebook, follow us on  Twitter and sign up for our daily newsletter.

Share This Article