14 Sep 2014
63° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by longunderwearman
Patch Instagram photo by quadrofoglio
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by healthandbeautynz
Patch Instagram photo by andreagazeapt
Patch Instagram photo by reh_22
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by pespatchpsp

Candidates To Date for Spring Local Elections

LAST CHANCE: This article provides a current list of candidates who have filed since Eureka-Wildwood Patch reported initial candidates on Dec. 11 and Jan. 3. Deadline for filing is today (Jan. 15).

Candidates To Date for Spring Local Elections

Municipal, fire protection district and school board candidates were able to announce their candidacies with the filing period opening Dec. 11 in Wildwood and Eureka. Filing closes at 5 p.m. today (Tuesday, Jan. 15). The local election will be April 2, 2013.

Metro West Fire Protection District:

Metro West Fire Protection District has one position on its board that will expire this spring; it is held by Tim Flora, who currently chairs the group.

Michael Thiemann, Metro's coordinator of emergency management, said Flora did file. Flora has served on this board for the past 12 years. Steve Ward, who was a former Metro West assistant chief also has filed. 

Metro West is headquartered in Wildwood.

Monarch Fire Protection District:

The seat of Monarch Fire Protection District board of director Kim Evans expires in April. Evans has served as a MFPD director for the past 5-1/2 years; she currently is the board president.

Monarch fire marshal Roger Herin confirmed incumbent Evans, as well as Russ Lake and former Monarch board member Rick Gans filed. Lake is an area business man who served, with two other residents, on Monarch's Citizens' Advisory Committee for next year's budget, said Herin. Gans was the president of the board prior to Evans.

Monarch's House No. 2, at 18424 Wildhorse Creek Rd., services Wildwood residents.

Eureka Fire Protection District:

Eureka Fire Protection District board of directors are elected to a six-year term with an election every two years. During the April election, one board position expires:  Francis (Butch) Oberkrame, who currently chairs the three-member group. 

Oberkrame, the incumbent, filed. Another Eureka resident, Frederick Wuelling III, filed as well.

EFPD serves the communites of Eureka, Wildwood, Hoene Springs, Southwest St. Louis County and Northern Jefferson County.

Rockwood School District:

Rockwood School District's Board of Education will fill two seats, as the terms of directors Janet Strate and Stephen Banton expire in April.

Kathy Chitwood, secretary to the Rockwood Board of Education, confirmed Strate and Banton have filed. Strate was first elected to the board in 2004. Banton was elected to the board in 1998, and is completing his fifth term.

On Monday, two more candidates filed:  Loralee Mondl and Jeffrey Morrell.

Prospective Rockwood Board of Education candidates may file paperwork from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday at Rockwood’s Administrative Center, 111 E. North Street in Eureka. The office will be open until 5 p.m. on Jan. 15.

Wildwood City Council filings per the city's website:

Ward One:  Larry McGowen, incumbent

Ward Two:  Ed Marshall, incumbent

Ward Three:  Sue Cullinane as well as Marc S. Perez

Ward Four:  Katie Dodwell, incumbent

Ward Five:  Dave Bertolino, incumbent

Ward Six:  Ron James, incumbent

Ward Seven:  Jeff Levitt

Ward Eight:  Paul L. Wojciechowski

Click here to find additional information for candidates who have filed for the April 2, 2013 Municipal Election in Wildwood.

Eureka Board of Aldermen and City Marshal:

Ward 1:  Wes Sir

Ward 2:  Marilyn Leistner

Ward 3:  Shannon Britt

City Marshal:  Mike Wiegand

Wes Sir's role as a Planning and Zoning Commissioner, coincides with his aldermanic term, and so also is set to expire in April.

Share This Article