22 Aug 2014
89° Partly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by thesmallbusinessprophet
Patch Instagram photo by thesmallbusinessprophet

Join in the Holiday Countdown

You might be surprised what other days fall within December.

Join in the Holiday Countdown Join in the Holiday Countdown

Christmas gets most of the press this time of year, but December is a month full of religious and secular festivals and holidays, along with some wild and wacky days as well.

Here’s a reminder of the major holidays this month, along with a collection of the most bizarre holidays gleaned from the corners of the Internet. We can’t vouch for the authenticity of some of these lesser known observances, but if you need a moment to forget the stress that sometimes comes with the major holidays, there’s got to be a few here to make you smile.

Forget the 12 Days of Christmas. Here’s a whole month of ways to celebrate.

December is Human Rights Month.

  • Thurs., Dec. 6: St. Nicholas Day; Mitten Tree Day; Put On Your Own Shoes Day; Miners’ Day
  • Fri., Dec. 7: Pearl Harbor Remembrance; International Civil Aviation Day; Letter Writing Day; National Cotton Candy Day
  • Sat., Dec. 8: Feast of the Immaculate Conception; Hanukkah begins at sundown; National Brownie Day; Take It In the Ear Day
  • Sun., Dec. 9: First full day of Hanukkah. This Jewish festival of lights lasts for eight days; Second Sunday of Advent; Christmas Card Day; International Children’s Day; National Pastry Day; Salesperson’s Day; Choral Day
  • Mon., Dec. 10: Human Rights Day
  • Tues., Dec. 11: National Noodle Ring Day; Mountain Day
  • Wed., Dec. 12: Poinsettia Day
  • Thurs., Dec. 13: Ice Cream Day; Violin Day
  • Fri., Dec. 14: National Bouillabaisse Day; Monkey Day
  • Sat., Dec. 15: Bill of Rights Day; National Lemon Cupcake Day; Cat Herders Day
  • Sun., Dec. 16: Last day of Hanukkah; Third Sunday of Advent; National Chocolate Covered Anything Day
  • Mon., Dec. 17: Pan American Aviation Day; Wright Brothers Day; National Maple Syrup Day; Underdog Day
  • Tues., Dec. 18: Bake Cookies Day; National Roast Suckling Pig Day
  • Wed., Dec. 19: Look for an Evergreen Day; Oatmeal Muffin Day
  • Thur., Dec. 20: Go Caroling Day; Games Day
  • Fri., Dec. 21: Winter Solstice, First Day of Winter; Forefather’s Day—celebrating the day Pilgrims landed on Plymouth Rock; Humbug Day; National Flashlight Day; Look on the Bright Side Day; Hamburger Day
  • Sat., Dec. 22: National Date Nut Bread Day; Haiku Poetry Day
  • Sun., Dec. 23: Fourth Sunday of Advent; Festivus “For the Rest of Us”; Roots Day
  • Mon., Dec. 24: Christmas Eve; George Washington’s Birthday; National Chocolate Day; National Egg Nog Day
  • Tues., Dec. 25: Christmas—Christian observance of Jesus’ birth; National Pumpkin Pie Day
  • Wed., Dec. 26: Kwanzaa, which lasts through Jan. 1; Boxing Day; Thank You Note Day; National Whiners Day
  • Thurs., Dec. 27: Make Cut Out Snowflakes Day; National Fruitcake Day
  • Fri., Dec. 28: Card Playing Day
  • Sat., Dec. 29: Pepper Pot Day; Tick Tock Day
  • Sun., Dec. 30: National Bicarbonate of Soda Day; Bacon Day
  • Mon., Dec. 31: New Year’s Eve; Unlucky Day; No Interruptions Day


What days will you celebrate?

Share This Article