Jul 29, 2014
Partly Cloudy

Missouri Schools of Character Announced

Ladue Middle School is proud to make the list.

Missouri Schools of Character Announced

Twelve schools from the St. Louis metropolitan region have earned distinction as a 2012 Missouri School of Character.  They are Blades, Hagemann, Point and Rogers Elementary  Schools in the Mehlville School District; Blevins and Ellisville Elementary Schools from the Rockwood School District; Brentwood Middle School in the Brentwood School District; Hollenbeck Middle School in the Francis Howell School District; Ladue Middle School in the Ladue School District, McKelvey Elementary in the P arkway School District, Northview High School in Special School District and Plattin Primary in the J efferson R-7 School District.

This group continues a trend of record-setting gains among Missouri schools, with 20 percent more schools than last year completing the most rigorous award process in the field of character education. CHARACTERplus®, a division of Cooperating School Districts, conducts the award process for the state of Missouri with the support of the St. Louis Rams. The two organizations share a commitment to positive youth development. 

The process itself is modeled after the National Schools of Character program founded by the Character Education Partnership (CEP) in Washington D.C. in 1998. There are more than 130 indicators assessed, including the reduction of bullying and incivility, the development of intrinsic motivation; meaningful curriculum, student empowerment, staff collegiality, service,
and shared moral leadership among staff, students and parents.
“CEP is thrilled to join with CHARACTERplus in recognizing these schools for their dedication to creating caring school climates where all kids thrive,” said National Schools of Character Director Lara Maupin.

CHARACTERplus will honor the 2012 Missouri Schools of Character on June 26 at the Character Education Conference.

CHARACTERplus is a membership organization providing high-quality professional development in character education since 1988. Its current membership involves more than 75 public school districts as well as individual private, parochial and charter schools in Missouri and Southern Illinois. Two of the three Illinois State Schools of Character for 2012 are members of CHARACTERplus:  Belleville Central Jr. High and Henry Raab Elementary from the Belleville #118 School District.

After being named a State School of Character, schools serve as models and mentors, helping other educators transform their school cultures and improve academics and student behavior.

Information was provided by the Cooperating School Districts.

Don’t miss updates from Patch!