15 Sep 2014
69° Humid and Overcast
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by longunderwearman
Patch Instagram photo by quadrofoglio
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by healthandbeautynz
Patch Instagram photo by andreagazeapt
Patch Instagram photo by reh_22
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden

New Football Districts on the Schedule for 2012

MSHSAA recently revealed a new-look football District format for the next two seasons.

New Football Districts on the Schedule for 2012

District football is getting a new look around Missouri.

The Missouri State High School Activities Association recently released District assignments for the 2012 and 2013 season. Under the old format, schools were placed in four or five-team Districts and the last three to four weeks of the regular season became the de facto playoffs. A team that 0-7 in the regular season could go 3-0 in Districts and make the State Tournament. 

That system has been scrapped. Now each school is in an eight-team District that places a higher emphasis on every game counting. 


The new format will create a nine-game regular season with schools scheduling all nine of these games. The 10th week will be the beginning of the District Championships. Teams will be placed into districts comprised of eight teams and seeded by a point system over the nine-game regular season.  The third game of the championship series would be the district championship game, eight district champions and eight district runner-ups being crowned.  

Here is a look at the new Districts. 

New Districts: 

Class 6, District 2

  • Christian Brothers College
  • DeSmet
  • Hazelwood Central
  • Hazelwood West
  • Pattonville
  • Ritenour
  • St. Louis University

Class 6, District 3

  • Francis Howell
  • Francis Howell Central
  • Hickman
  • Jefferson City
  • Rock Bridge
  • Troy Buchanan

Class 5, District 3

  • Parkway Central
  • Parkway North
  • Parkway West

Class 4, District 5

  • Clayton
  • Gateway
  • Jennings
  • Normandy
  • University City

Class 4, District 6

  • Hannibal
  • Helias Catholic
  • Kirksville
  • Marshall
  • Mexico
  • Moberly
  • Warrenton

Class 3, District 5

  • McCluer South-Berkeley
  • Orchard Farm
  • Sumner
  • Trinity Catholic
  • Winfield
  • Wright City

 Class 2, District 5

  • Bowling Green
  • Clark County
  • Clopton
  • Highland
  • Mark Twain
  • Monroe City
  • Palmyra

Share This Article