15 Sep 2014
52° Clear
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by longunderwearman
Patch Instagram photo by quadrofoglio
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden
Patch Instagram photo by daniellemastersonbooks
Patch Instagram photo by healthandbeautynz
Patch Instagram photo by andreagazeapt
Patch Instagram photo by reh_22
Patch Instagram photo by athomeinmygarden

F.L.O.W. Distribute Annual Volunteer Awards

Three awards were given to four community members at a banquet last week.

F.L.O.W. Distribute Annual Volunteer Awards F.L.O.W. Distribute Annual Volunteer Awards F.L.O.W. Distribute Annual Volunteer Awards

At the annual Friends of the Library of Windham (F.L.O.W.) banquet last week, four community members were awarded for their volunteer service to the community.

According to a release from F.L.O.W., those honored were recognized for their service to Nesmith Library and the community.

The following three awards were given to residents:

The Marjorie Carter Award, established in 1977, recognizes a F.L.O.W. Board member who has put forth a diligent effort on behalf of the Friends and has shown an outstanding commitment to the Library and its community. This year, the Marjorie Carter Award was presented to Laura Dempsey.  Laura served on the Friends Board for six years and held the position of membership chair.  In addition to her work with the Friends, Laura serves as a Golden Brook School PTA Special Events Coordinator.  This year the Friends have said farewell to Laura as she steps down from the F.L.O.W. Board.

The Carl Heidenblad, Murray Levin, Patricia Skinner Award was created in 1992, honors an individual who is not necessarily a F.L.O.W. Board member, but who has given tremendous support and/or performed many services for the Nesmith Library and the Windham community. This year, the award was given to two equally deserving recipients, Diane Carpenter and Margaret Crisler.

Diane has served on the board of the Windham PTA, the Windham Cooperative Kindergarten, and was also involved with WISE.  Diane is an active participant in the Windham Women’s Club.  She has been an active fundraiser for the Windham Community Band, Windham Musical Arts Association, and the Windham High School Drama Program.  Diane is also a founding member of the Windham Endowment for Community Advancement and currently serves as the organization’s President.  She was personally responsible for spearheading the effort to complete the Windham Endowment Windham High School Campaign.

Margaret has served as one of our State Representatives in Concord and on the Windham Board of Selectmen, in which she chaired in 2003.  She has dedicated many hours as a selectmen liaison to numerous committees in our town.  Margaret currently holds a position on the Windham Planning Board, Windham Women’s Club, Windham Republican Town Committee, Windham Historical Society, Windham Newcomer’s Club, the NH Orchid Society and is the President of the Windham Garden Club.  Margaret designed and supervised the construction of the landscaping at the Windham Cooperative Kindergarten and was involved in the design and build of the entry garden at our Nesmith Library. 

The Youth Service Award was created in 2003, to honor an outstanding young member of the library community who has gone above and beyond our expectations in support of the Friends of the Library of Windham and the Nesmith Library.  This year the Youth Service Award was presented to Kelly Martin.

Kelly started volunteering at the library when she was 13 and has been working in the children’s room ever since.  For many summers Kelly has volunteered for the drop in crafts.  For years, she has manned the Teen table during the Strawberry Festival.  She has been active in TAB – the teen advisory board at the Nesmith Library.  Kelly has also logged more volunteer hours than any other teen to date!


Four other individuals on the F.L.O.W. board are also leaving this year, and were recognized at the banquet.

Kelley Gage was the Book Fair Chair for two years along with Sue Hebert, Diane Dube served as Holiday Crafts Chair for three years, and Stephanie Wimmer served as Publicity Chair for three years.

The event was sponsored by four local busineses: MacMulkin Chevrolet Cadillac, Shabby Chic Cupcakes, Delahunty Nurseries and Florist and the Windham Deli.

Share This Article