Jul 29, 2014
Mostly Cloudy

CHS Hall of Fame Will Induct Seven, Plus a Team and Coach

The biennial event will be held tonight in Cinnaminson.

CHS Hall of Fame Will Induct Seven, Plus a Team and Coach

Six individual athletes, a boys’ cross country team and the school district’s athletic trainer will be inducted into the Cinnaminson High School Athletic Hall of Fame tonight.

The event, to be held at Riverton Country Club, is now held every two years and honors the town’s athletic elite.

This is the second time a team will be inducted into the hall of fame along with its coach. The boys’ 1969 cross-country team, led by Gene Campbell, will be inducted. A few members of the team—including Campbell—have been inducted separately.

The other athletes to be inducted are:

David Abbe—Class of 1987—Baseball

Gerald Collins—Class of 1987—Football

Valerie Collins—Class of 1976—Basketball

Andre Fogel Howard—Class of 1983—Basketball

Lisa Brooks Tullman—Class of 1982—Tennis

Murmond Williams—Class of 1972—Track

Cinnaminson’s athletic trainer Mark “Chip” Cherwony will also be inducted. Cherwony celebrated his 25th year with the school district in 2011.

“I’m extremely honored,” Cherwony said. “It’s a very special honor. Cinnaminson is really a second home for me.”

Cherwony is on the hall of fame committee and usually serves as the emcee but will hand the reins over to co-chair Beth Johnson-Reeves.

Cherwony said the bulk of the criteria for induction is what you did in high school and even in college. Everyone gets graded from one to 10 and the committee analyzes the scores.

You must have not only graduated from CHS but gone to the district for at least eight years.

The banquet will be held at 6 p.m. tonight at Riverton Country Club.

Don’t miss updates from Patch!