22 Aug 2014
67° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by atlanticbeachsoapco

Hannen Supports Mayors Group Headed to Washington to Discuss Gun Laws

Cranford Mayor Hannen, along with 75 other New Jersey mayors agree with a push for gun control laws in Washington.

Hannen Supports Mayors Group Headed to Washington to Discuss Gun Laws Hannen Supports Mayors Group Headed to Washington to Discuss Gun Laws

Editor's Note: It was originally reported that Mayor Tom Hannen would be joining Fanwood Mayor Collen Mahr on a trip to Washington. Hannen didn't intend on joining the group, but fully supports the effort. Hannen will be in Cranford dealing with a "full-agenda" of Cranford items he told Patch.


Fanwood Mayor Collen Mahr will travel to Washington on Wednesday as a member of Mayors Against Illegal Guns to petition members of congress to implement stricter gun control laws.

Mahr, along with eleven other New Jersey mayors, will meet in Cranford this morning to discuss their plan to tackle the issue. Also, the mayors will show members of the media at the Cranford Municipal Building a public service announcement featuring the family members of victims of gun violence and gun violence survivors.

The mayors intend to demand from congress that military style weapons be taken off the streets and guns stay out of the hands of criminals.

These twelve New Jersey mayors make up a group of 70 members from NJ in the coalition. Throughout the United States there are nearly 800 members of Mayors Against Illegal Guns.

At the Cranford Municipal Building on Monday, Jan. 14,  Fanwood Mayor Collen Mahr, Mayor Thomas Hannen, Roselle mayor Jamel Holley, Former Governor Jim Florio, Union County Sheriff Ralph Froehlich and Michael Pohle, a Flemington resident who lost his son in the 2007 Virginia Tech shooting, will speak to the media beginning at 10 a.m.


The following politicians are expected to attend the event:

Gov. Jim Florio

Senator Raymond Lesniak
Assemblywoman Linda Stender

Host – Cranford Mayor Thomas Hannen, Jr.
Roselle Mayor Jamel Holly
Fanwood Mayor Collen Mahr
Scotch Plains Mayor Kevin Glover (another new member)
Elizabeth Mayor J. Christian Bollwage
Plainfield Mayor Sharon Robinson-Briggs

Maplewood Mayor Victor DeLuca
Edison Mayor Toni Ricigliano
Hazlet Mayor Joseph Belasco (another new member)
Aberdeen Mayor Fred Tagliarini
Union Township Mayor Clifton People, Jr.
Clinton Mayor Janice Kovach (another new member)
Cherry Hill Mayor Chuck Cahn
Washington Township Mayor Barbara Wallace (Gloucester County)

Share This Article