Four new members of the Fort Lee Board of Education took the oath of office at the school board’s New Year’s Day reorganization meeting, during which the board also nominated and elected its president and vice president for the coming year.

Esther Han Silver, David Sarnoff and Holly Morell were elected to three-year terms in November, and Candace Romba was elected to serve out the remaining year of former board president Arthur Levine’s unexpired term.

After taking the oath of office, the new board members were seated, and the first order of business for 2013 was the nomination and election process for board president and vice president.

Board member Joseph Surace nominated Yusang “Jimmy” Park, who served in the role after Levine's departure, for president. Park, in turn, nominated Surace for vice president. Both were the only board members nominated, and the six members of the board present for the meeting approved both unanimously.

Park thanked the board members who did attend the meeting and members of the public for taking the time to attend when they could just as easily have been at home celebrating the holiday. He also said the new-look board hopes to accomplish “a lot of good for our district and our kids.”

“We hope to be clear, sincere and, once again, productive as a board and as a district as we welcome 2013,” Park said.

Check back for more on Tuesday’s Fort Lee BOE meeting.


Find us on Facebook or Twitter, or for news straight to your inbox, sign up for our daily newsletter.

Don’t miss updates from Patch!