21 Aug 2014
70° Heavy Rain
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch

CentraState Honors Nursing Excellence Award Winners

CentraState Honors Nursing Excellence Award Winners

CentraState Healthcare System recently honored seven RNs with its 12th annual Nursing Excellence Awards for demonstrating exceptional clinical skill and leadership in the hospital and in the community.

The 2014 award winners are: Ellen Kane, BSN, RN, CPAN, PACU, Perioperative Services Award; Mary Elizabeth Cortese, BSN, RN-BC, Cardiac Services, Extended Nursing Care Award; Debra Zara, RN, CEN, Emergency Department, Emergency/Critical Care Services Award; German Butay, BSN, RN-BC, 1 South Psychiatry, Mental Health Services Award; Diane M. Savastano, BSN, RNC, C-EFM, LDRP, Maternal Health Services Award; Annette M. Keller, MA, BSN, RN, CEN, Professional Development, Advanced Practice Nurse Award; and Karen Morgan, BSN, RN-BC, 5 North PCU, Medical Surgical Department Award.

Since 2005, CentraState Medical Center has held Magnet® recognition status from the American Nurses Credentialing Center, which is considered the "gold standard" for measuring excellence in nursing and patient care. Nurses who win the Nursing Excellence Awards must demonstrate Magnet program ideals including leadership; professionalism; involvement in research, publications, and formal lectures; certifications and education; and clinical excellence.

“Nurses can be nominated by anyone, but the winners are selected by a committee of their peers, which makes this a truly special honor,” says Cathleen Janzekovich, assistant vice president, nursing, CentraState Medical Center. “Not only do the winners have to be clinically competent, but they have to be nurse leaders on their units and within the community.”

The award winners were celebrated at a ceremony during Nurses Week at the hospital. Each winner received a framed certificate, a monetary award and a pin. Their names will also be added to a permanent plaque in the hallway outside of the nursing administrative offices.

CentraState Healthcare System is a nonprofit community health organization consisting of an acute-care hospital, a health and wellness campus, three senior living communities, a Family Medicine Residency Program, and a charitable foundation. CentraState’s teaching program is sponsored by Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School.

# # #

Photo caption:

The recipients of the 2014 CentraState Nursing Excellence Awards are (left to right): Ellen Kane, Mary Elizabeth Cortese, Debra Zara, German Butay, Diane M. Savastano, Annette M. Keller, and Karen Morgan.

Share This Article