23 Aug 2014
63° Overcast
Patch Instagram photo by justeen_devivo
Patch Instagram photo by svanderv

Hopatcong Task Force Sets First Meeting

New panel to improve high school will meet on Dec. 3.

Hopatcong Task Force Sets First Meeting Hopatcong Task Force Sets First Meeting

The 52-member High School Task Force will meet for the first time on Dec. 3 at Hopatcong High School.

Board of Education president Clifford Lundin said Monday that the time of the meeting will be determined as soon as the board hears from the New Jersey School Board Association facilitator, who will help organize the group’s efforts.

The task force was formed late in the summer after Hopatcong’s ranking in two statewide magazine and newspaper rankings slipped sharply.

The task force is designed to find ways to improve the educational experience at the district schools.

Parent Jackie Turkington, who is a member of the task force, said she was concerned about the drop in ranking.

“People make the decisions about where they purchase a home on those rankings,” she said.

Superintendent Charles Maranzano said no one was trying top downplay the drop in school rankings, but that each publication used a specific set of criteria to determine their rankings that don’t always show the overall quality of the educations students receive.

Task force volunteers are: Judith Antonelli, Rose Nitzsche, Nancy Boehm, Robert Bond, Terry Bond,  Karin Bostrum, Janet Bracato, Amber Charlebois, Christine Cinnamon, Carly Claus, Charles Comerford, Gregory Cooper, Ida Corrigan, Tracy Costa, Laura Damelio, Christine Delurski, Danielle Doxon-Moyle;

Also, Jenica Eckerson, Denise Gaccione-Caputo, Amy  Gallagher, Pedro Godoy, Gina Gufarotti, Sheri Hadowanetz, Richard Hodson, Tina Hulsman, Stacy Ibraham, Christine Karaman, Keith Labrunda, Alexis  Lerner, Daniel McCarthy III, Gregory McGroaty;

Also, Alex McLean, Amy Meyer, Allyson Moreno, Katherine Mosher, Kim Mott, Jane O’Connor, Anita Plantamura, Kara Puco, Valerie Quinn,  Kelly Rodick, Willa Scantlebury, Christine Scholz, Josephine Schwartz, Debra Serocke, Marshall Speizer, Sharon Tremitiendi, Jackie Turkington, Kimberly Vasquez, Robert Vasquez, Patrick Walsh, and Quashinna Williams.

Share This Article