20 Aug 2014
69° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by justeen_devivo
Patch Instagram photo by svanderv

Sparta BOE President, Vice President Unseated

Mayor and incumbent each earn new two-year terms on town council.

Sparta BOE President, Vice President Unseated

Sparta Board of Education President Keith Smith, Vice President Dorothy La Beau and board member Isa Wolf were all defeated by newcomers Karen M. Scott, Kim Yeomans and John Surdoval in Tuesday's election, preliminary results showed.

Scott received the most votes at 4,515, according to unofficial results posted by the Sussex County Clerk. Yeomans received 3,853 and Surdoval received 3,641.

LaBeau came in fourth with 3,272 votes. Wolf received 3,076 votes, and Smith received 3,074.

Mayor Jerry Murphy will keep his seat for another two-year term on the Sparta Township council after winning Tuesday's election.

Christine Quinn also earned a seat on the council after receiving the most votes at 4,174. Murphy received 3,674.

Murphy and Quinn defeated James Henderson, Donald R. Ploetner II and Jesse Wolosky.

Henderson garnered 2,493 votes, while Ploetner received 2,045 and Wolosky received 1,843.

Stay with Patch as we continue to provide more coverage of the election.

Read all of Hopatcong-Sparta election coverage here.

Share This Article