21 Aug 2014
68° Mostly Cloudy
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by legallyblonde27
Patch Instagram photo by ermyceap
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by taratesimu
Patch Instagram photo by lilyava299
Patch Instagram photo by _mollfairhurst
Patch Instagram photo by thecontemporaryhannah
Patch Instagram photo by lucyketch

Updated: Little Silver, Oceanport Elections 2012

Unofficial results in Tuesday's big local races.

Updated: Little Silver, Oceanport Elections 2012

UPDATED: Nov. 7, midnight

Votes were stil being counted in contested race in each borough.

Little Silver Borough Council

With 85 percent of votes counted, results show that the GOP ticket took the three open spots on the borough council. Incumbents David Gilmour and Donald Galante will be joined by Dr. Richard Scott, beating out challenger Dan Levine.

Oceanport Board of Education

While results from Sea Bright polling stations had yet to be counted, intial results show that the winners of the three full term seats on the BOE were Jay Coffey, Mike Murphey and Tom Welsh.

Voters will go to the polls today to select a variety of candidates for local, county, state and national offices.

However, polling places in both municipalities have been altered because of damage or power loss sustained during Hurricane Sandy.

Check back here for updates and full results after polls close.

Oceanport Borough Council

It's a quiet election year in Oceanport with two Republican incumbents running for re-election. Councilman William Johnson and Councilman Gerald Bertekap are each running for full terms on the borough council.

Oceanport Board of Education

Voters will select four out of eight candidates to serve on the district's board. Of the petitions filed for three, three-year seats and one, one-year seat, two were members currently serving on the school board.

Spencer W. Carpenter was the only candidate to file an application for the single one-year term on the ballot. Incumbent Joan Osgoodby-Latacz will be among the seven candidates running for the three-year seats.

Full bios on all candidates can be found here.

Shore Regional High School Board of Education

Paul Rolleri is running for the available Oceanport seat on the high school's board.

Little Silver Borough Council

Three candidate are vying for two three-year seats and incumbent Donald Galante is running to fill the one-year unexpired term.

GOP candidates David Gilmour and Dr. Richard Scott are running against former council president Dan Levine.

Little Silver Board of Education

Two candidates filed petitions with the county to run for the two, three-year terms and the single one-year seat. Incumbent Little Silver Board of Education members Chris Smith and Lorre Weisman are running for the three-year seats. The one-year seat will be determined by write-in candidate as no candidate filed to run.

Red Bank Regional Board of Education

Incumbent Michael Megill is the sole candidate running for the available Little Silver three-year seat on the high school's board.

Polling Places


Voters from districts one and four will vote at Oceanport Hook and Ladder Fire House on Main Street.(If you normally vote at Old Wharf House, this is your polling location.)

Voters from districts two, three and five will vote at Port au Peck Chemical Hose on Mrytle Avenue. (If you normally vote at the Community Center, this is your polling location.)

Polls will open at 6 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Call Borough Hall with questions at (732) 222-8221.

Little Silver

Voting locations, regardless of whether power is restored on Tuesday, will be as follows:

  • District One, which usually votes at Borough Hall, will continue to vote at Borough Hall;
  • Districts Two and Four, which usually vote at the Women's Club, will vote at the Little Silver Library behind the Borough Hall at 480 Prospect Avenue;
  • District Three, which usually votes at St. John's Church, will vote at Borough Hall;
  • District 5, which usually votes at Point Road School, will vote at the Markham Place School;
  • District's Six and Seven, which usually vote at Markham Place School, will continue to vote at Markham Place School.

Share This Article