Jul 28, 2014
Partly Cloudy

Montclair Election Guide 2012

The Township Clerk's Office changed two polling places for Tuesday's election: Bradford School and Watchung School.

Montclair Election Guide 2012


[Updated: 4 p.m. Monday]

A full listing of Montclair polling places and their addresses can be found in the photo gallery of this article. 

[Updated: 10:45 a.m. Monday] 

The Montclair Township Clerk has officially changed two polling places in town for Tuesday's election.

  • Residents who were scheduled to vote at Bradford School (Ward 1, Districts 5, 9) will now vote at Mt. Hebron School, 173 Bellevue Ave.
  • Residents who were scheduled to vote at Watchung School (Ward 2, Districts 3, 6, 8) will now vote at George Inness Atrium, Park Street.

Power has been restored to Northeast School (Ward 1) and to Edgemont School (Ward 2). Voting will take place at these locations.

Click here to find out your polling place. 

Alternative Ways to Vote

Voting by email or fax: To vote electronically, residents first must submit a ballot application by email, elections@essexclerk.com, or fax to the Essex County Clerk, (973) 621-6343.

The County Clerk will accept electronic applications through 5 p.m. Tuesday. Once the application is approved, the clerk will email or fax a ballot to the voter, who must send it back no later than Tuesday at 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Voting by provisional ballot: Any voter who has been displaced from their primary residences because of the storm, may vote by provisional ballot at any polling place in the state.


[Original post: Sunday] Tuesday is Election Day in Montclair.

Besides the presidential election, Montclair residents will be casting a ballot on Congressional elections for District 10 and 11, United States senator and Essex County sheriff, as well as two state public questions.

Regular polling places will be open Tuesday in Montclair. However, as of Monday morning, power has yet to be restored to some schools due to the effects of Hurricane Sandy.

Last week, Essex County Clerk Chris Durkin assured residents they would be able to vote regardless of power outages left in Hurricane Sandy's wake. Voters can vote early, by mail, and can even go directly to the clerk’s office, 465 Martin Luther King Blvd. in Newark, to pick up a mail-in ballot application.

See below for more information. Click on the links to read the full story.

Presidential Election

President Barack Obama is in what some are calling a dead heat with Republican candidate Mitt Romney going into this year's presidential election. Patch has round-ups on the presidential hopefuls first, second and third debates.

10th Congressional District

After winning the June congressional primaries by a landslide, Democrat Donald M. Payne Jr. is no doubt the odds-on favorite going into the District 10 election against Republican candidate Brian C. Kelemen. Joanne Miller, of the Change, Change, Change party, and Mick Erickson, of the Libertarian Party, are also on the ballot.

District 10 includes part of Union and Hudson counties, Bloomfield, Newark, Montclair and West Orange, as well as all of South Orange and Maplewood.

11th Congressional District

Former Roseland mayor , is seeking election to the 11th congressional district over Republican incumbent Rodney Frelinghuysen.

District 11 includes some of Bloomfield, Nutley and other parts of Essex and Passaic counties.

United States Senator

Republican State Sen. Joe Kyrillos and Sen. Robert Menendez will duke it out for the United States Senator seat, a position Menendez, a Democratic, has held since 2006. Kyrillos has held a seat in the New Jersey Senate since 1992. In a series of debates, the candidates have gone head-to-head on

Essex County Sheriff

Incumbent Armando Fontoura, a Democrat, is seeking his eighth term as Essex County sheriff Tuesday against Republican Orlando Mendez. Mendez, a Republican, ran unopposed in the June primary.

Public Questions

Residents will vote yes or no on two questions about the "Building Our Future Bond Act" and a constitutional amendment allowing contributions to be taken from justices' and judges' salaries for their employee benefits.

Useful Links

Don’t miss updates from Patch!