Jul 28, 2014
Mostly Cloudy

New Year, New 2013 Rumson BOE

Colleen O'Connor named president for second year

New Year, New 2013 Rumson BOE New Year, New 2013 Rumson BOE New Year, New 2013 Rumson BOE

There was little ringing in the New Year with some new Rumson Board of Education members on Thursday night.

And there were also some familiar faces returning to the dais and taking oaths for additonal terms.

In a quick, simple ceremony, newcomers William "Bill" Loughran and Maura Beyer were sworn in to full and unexpired terms, respectively, by Board Secretary/Administrator Denise Friedmann.

Loughran, who is principal of Holmdel High School, won his first term to the board. After being appointed to temporarily fill the unexpired term of Colleen Hodge, who resigned due to relocation, Beyer ran to fill Hodge's seat for two years and won against Russell Binns.

And John Connors took his oath, returning to the dais through 2015. Margaret Simons was absent and "will take her oath privately," Friedmann said. 

As is protocol for an organization meeting, Friedmann ran the meeting until all were sworn in and a president, who normally runs the meetings, was nominated and appointed.

Colleen O'Connor, for the second year in a row, was appointed president and O'Connor, in turn, nominated Todd Havard as vice president, who took the spot on the dais for the first time.

The following are the committee assignments for the year 2013:

Education ~ Kim Swain, Colleen O'Connor, Todd Havard and Margaret Simons

Planning ~ Colleen O'Connor, Bill Loughran, Maura Beyer and Kim Swain

Finance/Facilities ~ Colleen O'Connor, Craig Pinsley (Chair), Peter Jarck and Maura Beyer

Policy ~ Colleen O'Connor, Todd Havard (Chair), John Connors and Bill Loughran

Personnel ~ Colleen O'Connor, John Connors, Craig Pinsly and Margaret Simons

Foundation Liaison ~ Craig Pinsly

PTO Liaison ~ Maura Beyer

NJ School Boards Association and GS Coalition ~ delegate, Bill Loughran; alternate, Maura Beyer

Don’t miss updates from Patch!