22 Aug 2014
72° Overcast
Patch Instagram photo by ladolcedeedee
Patch Instagram photo by theundoing

Neill to Serve as Chief for Two More Years

Current chief received majority of votes.

Neill to Serve as Chief for Two More Years

Chief won a second term as department chief after receiving the most votes in the department's member-only election Sunday.

Three company chiefs ran in the election: Neill (Kiel Hook and Ladder Co.); Peter Barry (Pequannock Engine Hose Co.); John Ryan (Bartholdi Hose Co.). The Kinney Hose Co. originally sought to have Earl Dean run, but Dean was disqualified from the election due to a suspension from the department.

According to results filed with Clerk Mary O'Keefe, Neill received 40 votes, Ryan received 27 votes and Barry received two votes. Sixty nine members of the 89-member department voted.

The department election was only open to members who maintain a 60 percent attendance rate at alarms, drills and meetings.

Neill was not immediately available for comment.

Share This Article