23 Aug 2014
70° Overcast

Brian Scanlan and Doug Christie Win Committee Seats

Also, voters renew the Open Space Trust Fund tax.

Brian Scanlan and Doug Christie Win Committee Seats Brian Scanlan and Doug Christie Win Committee Seats Brian Scanlan and Doug Christie Win Committee Seats

Current Committeeman Brian Scanlan was re-elected and Zoning Board Chairman Doug Christie was elected to the Wyckoff Township Committee Tuesday, according to township officials.

The tally, not including absentee ballots, had Scanlan with 2,419 votes, Christie with 2,037 and Committeeman Tom Madigan with 1,784 votes.

Scanlan, the only Democrat on the Committee, was first elected in 2008 and is also a member of the. He told Patch that he intends to continue finding ways to trim government expences. Scanlan is currently the deputy chairman of the township's finance commitee.

"I plan to continue to work as hard as possible for the lowest possible municipal tax rate," Scanlan said.

Christie, a Republican, is currently the chairman of the , a 25-year veteran of the and the department's current chaplain. Christie will be stepping down from the Zoning Board, where he has sat as a member for 10 years.

Christie told Patch he believes his previous experience with the public makes him suited for the position, and hopes to keep the township government working with private/public partnerships, such as the Wyckoff Recreation Foundation, whenever possible.

"I'm excited to serve the people of Wyckoff," Christie said.

Wyckoff residents also voted to renew the Open Space Trust Fund tax with 2,440 votes in favor to 963 against. The fund collects an average of $40 per home each year and the money is going toward the acquisition of Russell Farms and the Maple Lake property.

4,034 Wyckoff voters came out for this year's election day, about 34 percent of registered voters in the township. Last year, just under 50 percent of registered voters participated in the election.

Share This Article